03/12/04 — Beginning Teacher of the Year named

View Archive

Beginning Teacher of the Year named

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on March 12, 2004 2:03 PM

Tameshia Spain of Dillard Middle School was selected the 2003-2004 Beginning Teacher of the Year. She was one of 32 nominees representing all 31 schools in the system and the finalist from the middle school category.

The elementary finalist was Joey Durham from Northwest Elementary School, and the high school finalist was Jim Ryan from Goldsboro High School.

Teachers with three or fewer years of experience in the classroom were eligible. The selection process included interviews with each nominee and support statements from their principals and mentors.

"We wanted to pause and provide an opportunity to recognize beginning teachers and to use this event as a means to motivate and encourage our beginning teachers," said Gerald Whitley, assistant superintendent for personnel. "Beginning teachers are faced with a lot of challenges, and we wanted to affirm for them the importance of what they do."

Ms. Spain is in her second year as a seventh-grade math teacher at Dillard Middle School.

Her principal, Tania Horton said, "This teacher's ultimate goal is to make sure that every child is successful in obtaining the best education possible."

Ms. Spain previously worked as an accountant with the county mental health department. In her acceptance remarks, she said that her work there had enabled her to recognize the many needs of young people. Her desire to work directly with young people led her to pursue teaching as a career.

As the Beginning Teacher of the Year, she received a $500 check, the use of a laptop computer and the opportunity to attend an in-state conference with all expenses paid.

Ryan is a second-year English teacher at Goldsboro High School, and Durham is a third-year physician education teacher at Northwest Elementary.

As finalists, they each received a $150 check.

Beginning Teacher of the Year nominees from each school were: Melissa Curran, Belfast Academy; Caroline Anderson, Brogden Middle; Amy Brantley, Brogden Primary; Karen Morgan, Carver Elementary; Miriam Boyette, Carver Heights Elementary; Jamie Livengood, Charles B. Aycock High; Bobbi Boatwright, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Selena Worrell, Eastern Wayne High; Robin Morton, Eastern Wayne Middle; Mary Ann Durochia, Edgewood; Kelly Langston, Fremont STARS Elementary; Beverly Kee, Goldsboro Middle; Jonathan Jones, Grantham; Laveanya Coffey, Greenwood Middle; Tracy Thomas, Meadow Lane Elementary; Nana Strickland, Mt. Olive Middle; Aimee Kahler, North Drive Elementary; Amanda Gray, Northeast Elementary; Donna Cox, Norwayne Middle; Shelly Daniels, Rosewood Elementary; Eddie Maldonado, Rosewood High; Elizabeth McDaniel, Rosewood Middle; Carolyn McKnight, School Street Elementary; Cara Goodman, Southern Academy; Cindy Anderson, Southern Wayne High; Jeanette Walters, Spring Creek Elementary; James Baker, Spring Creek High (middle school); Suzanne Kemp, Spring Creek High; and Joyce Hess, Tommy's Road Elementary.