04/22/04 — Brennand named top school volunteer

View Archive

Brennand named top school volunteer

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on April 22, 2004 2:09 PM

Volunteers and business partners for Wayne County public schools were honored at a reception on Wednesday afternoon.

Volunteers of the year were named for each of the 31 schools, with Spring Creek Elementary School's representative selected to receive the Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year award.

The winner, Gretchen Brennand, was lauded for devoting hundreds of hours organizing activities, planning fund-raisers, and tutoring students at the school. Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent of schools, said Mrs. Brennand exemplified the true spirit of volunteerism through her interaction with students and staff.

Three groups were also recognized for providing resources, time and expertise to schools during the school year as part of the Partners in Education program. The program began in 1989. Partners can be a small or large business, a civic group, a church, organization or agency. Currently, 125 partners lend support.

Aries Formalwear, a partner with Charles B. Aycock High School for 10 years, was recipient of the small-organization award. The business donated money, helped proctor tests and supported students through job shadowing.

The award for the medium-size organization went to the Goldsboro chapter of Continental Societies Inc., a partner with School Street Elementary School for eight years. The Continentals started a "Super Kids" program at the school, sponsored an asthma camp for students and parents, and provided money for girls to go to a hair salon for the first time to have their hair done.

Ryan's Family Steakhouse received the award for the larger business. The restaurant has been a partner with Eastern Wayne Elementary School for seven years and has provided food and incentives to students and has assisted with the school's career fair.

"What the volunteers do for our schools just can't be measured," said Olivia Pierce, executive director for community relations.

Other volunteers of the year from each school are: Debbie Pittman of Belfast Academy; John Grant of Brogden Middle; Crystal Grant, Brogden Primary; Jean Herring, Carver Elementary; Donald McCullough of Carver Heights Elementary; Timothy Lancaster of Charles B. Aycock; Joann Boyette Bizzell, Dillard Middle; Mary Taylor, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Robin Narron, Eastern Wayne High; Cindy Umstead of Eastern Wayne Middle; Traci Carlisle, Edgewood; Teresa Radford, Fremont STARS Elementary; Nora Grantham, Goldsboro High; Estelle Johnson, Goldsboro Middle; Evelyn Small, Grantham; Willie Thomas, Greenwood Middle; Becky Nighswander, Meadow Lane Elementary; Chester Wiggins, Mount Olive Middle; Jerry Bizzell, North Drive Elementary; Jean Haase, Northeast Elementary; Melissa Vera, Northwest Elementary; Stephen Owl, Norwayne Middle; Connie Henn, Rosewood Elementary; Steve Overman, Rosewood High; Donna Mercer, Rosewood Middle; Tranicia Cooper, School Street Elementary; Ivy Brown, Southern Academy; Joe Beaman, Southern Wayne High; Kathy Watson, Spring Creek High; and John Dougherty, Tommy's Road Elementary.