04/25/04 — James Sprunt students inducted

View Archive

James Sprunt students inducted

By Bonnie Edwards
Published in News on April 25, 2004 2:03 AM

Students inducted

KENANSVILLE -- Twenty-three students at James Sprunt Community College recently were inducted into the Beta Epsilon Chi Chapter of the international honor society, Phi Theta Kappa.

To qualify for induction, students must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and meet certain course requirements.

New members are David Morgan of Rose Hill, Juliet Tate of Willard, Amanda Heath of Beulaville, Brenda Spivey of Harrells, Ashley Spearman of Garland, Bridget Hall of Beulaville, Renee Hunter of Beulaville, Rebecca Outlaw of Mount Olive, Patricia Owens of Warsaw and Cheryl Hayes of Maple Hill. Others are Riley Barwick of Kenansville, Jessi Maldonado of Faison, Avis Bonita Carr of Rose Hill, Mary Whitfield of Wallace, Krystal Atkin of Harrells, Gloria Sutton of Kenansville, Blake Smith of Chinquapin, Bryant Henderson, Jessica Thornton, Hilda Young, Sharon Bennett, William Sallin and Derrick Mathis.

In addition to being honored for their scholastic success at JSCC, members participate in a variety of projects throughout the year designed to enhance their experiences in leadership, scholarship, service and fellowship.

For its work, the JSCC chapter won 14 regional awards at the recent Carolinas Regional Convention including being named a Five-star Chapter. Other awards include Carolinas Super Star Award, Best Use of Honor Topic, an Honorable Mention in the Bruce R. Wallis Regional Service Award, Newsletter Award, Distinguished Chapter and Most Distinguished second runner-up, which includes an $800 scholarship to the International Honors Institute in Los Angeles in June.

Carolinas Hall of Honor recipients were Lynn Outlaw and Joseph Ezzell.

Chapter advisors Fostina Cooper and Kathy Wrenn were also honored with a Horizon Award for Advisors and with an Honorable Mention as Distinguished Advisors.