05/02/04 — Sprunt College presents awards

View Archive

Sprunt College presents awards

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on May 2, 2004 8:10 AM

KENANSVILLE -- James Sprunt Community College staff and faculty recently honored several dozen students for their participation in various programs and activities during the fifth annual Student Awards Ceremony.

Students were awarded for participating in the Student Government Association, Phi Theta Kappa honor society and for winning recognition from organizations outside the college. Others were nominated for special recognition by faculty and staff.

Those honored were as follows:

*Ambassadors -- Greg Norris, Tamela West, Sonja Boykin and Deborah Philyaw.

*Academic Excellence -- William Francis "Bill" Sallin and Deborah Philyaw.

*Workforce Initiative Act/Adult Program Outstanding Performance Award -- Anthony Ray Lesene.

*Basic Skills Student of the Year -- Chendrick Brinson.

*Phi Theta Kappa Recognition -- Joseph Ezzell, Tamela West and Tanya Pittman.

*Student Support Services Tutor Recognition -- Karen Andrews, Sharron Archie-Sinclair, Antonio Bea, Sharon Bennett, Tabithan Miller-Brown, Lontonia Bryant, Lea Bullard, Avis Carr, Ava Cavenaugh, Deborah Edwards, Audrey English, Taheshia Hobbs, Phadra Kornegay, Chiquitta Lesene, Crystal Mitchell, Chicquet Newkirk, Shekia Parker, Sandra Pope, Joshua Raynor, Tammy Spaulding, Patricia Tyler, Corina Vann and Tracy Ward.

*SGA Leadership -- Sonja Boykin, Wanda Williams, Lemont Judge, Phadra Kornegay, Edmund Newkirk and Deborah Philyaw.

Other awards went to the 40 students named to Who's Who in American Community College Students.