05/18/04 — Council honors youth group

View Archive

Council honors youth group

By Barbara Arntsen
Published in News on May 18, 2004 1:59 PM

A record number of high school seniors from the Goldsboro Youth Council were recognized Monday by the City Council.

The 24 students representing various high schools in the area received over $400,000 in scholarships. Previously the highest number of youth council graduates had been 16.

Three of the students recognized Monday received $500 scholarships from the youth council: Terrence Artis from Rosewood High, Marquita Bines from Southern Wayne and Kendra Raynor from Goldsboro High.

To qualify for the $500 scholarship, students had to attend a certain number of meetings, participate in service projects, maintain a 3.5 grade point average and get two letters of recommendation from teachers or a principal.

The students shook hands with each of the councilmen, who congratulated the seniors on their accomplishments.

LaTerrie Ward, director of the city's Community Affairs Department and the leader of the youth council, said the students had participated in a number of service projects throughout the year.

Those projects included playing bingo with nursing home residents, making Thanksgiving baskets, singing Christmas carols at O'Berry Center, and the Easter egg hunt at Herman Park.

The youth council also won an award for the best scrapbook in the state at the annual conference in Atlantic Beach last week. It's the 12th consecutive year the organization has won the award.

The graduating students and the colleges they plan to attend are as follows:

Charles B. Aycock: Eman Alawar, N.C. State University; Lisa Davis, Campbell University, Sarah Davis, N.C. State University.

Rosewood High: Terrence Artis, DeVry University.

Eastern Wayne: David Barnes, Johnson and Wales; Anthony Castrati, Wayne Community College; Vanessa Cox, Winston-Salem State University; Veronica Cutler, Wayne Community College; Bill Maher, Wayne Community College; Ginny Narron, UNC-Chapel Hill; Bradley Thomas, N.C. State University.

Spring Creek: Karena Barnes, East Carolina University; James King, UNC-Wilmington; Ricky Purnell, UNC-Pembroke; Kim Stovall, East Carolina University.

Southern Wayne: Marquita Bines, UNC-Greensboro; Janae Burns, UNC-Greensboro; Reggie Faire, UNC-Pembroke; Jerome Frederick, Morehead University; Erin Kelly, UNC-Chapel Hill; Ta'Shara Roberts, UNC-Pembroke.

Wayne Country Day: Shivar Person, N.C. State.

Goldsboro High: Kendra Raynor, A&T State University; Christopher Simms, Wayne Community College.