06/14/04 — Eight win teacher scholarships

View Archive

Eight win teacher scholarships

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 14, 2004 1:58 PM

The Wayne County school board and the county commissioners recently announced eight recipients of the 2004 Wayne County Teacher Scholarship.

The program, sponsored by the county, was established in 2000 to attract people to the teaching profession.

The 2004 recipients are as follows:

*Heidi Wiseman, 2004 graduate of Southern Wayne High, winner of an $8,000 per year scholarship to attend a private college or university.

*Briana McGuire, 2004 graduate of Eastern Wayne High; Robert Smith, 2003 graduate of Southern Wayne High; Angela Goldsby, 2001 graduate of Goldsboro High; and Pamela Kneeshaw, 1983 graduate of Eastern Wayne High, winners of the two-year scholarships worth $1,200 annually to attend Wayne Community College. These students also will receive $5,000 for two years to attend four-year colleges after transferring from Wayne Community College.

*Courtney Howell, 2004 graduate of Charles B. Aycock; Deena Stutts, 1973 graduate of Southern Wayne, and James Cox, 2003 graduate of Rosewood, winners of the four-year scholarships, valued at $5,000 annually, to attend public colleges or universities.