06/27/04 — Student News

View Archive

Student News

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on June 27, 2004 2:01 AM

Allison Preston of Mount Olive is attending a 10-day National Youth Leadership Forum on Medicine in Phoenix-Tucson, Ariz.

She joins 350 other high school students from around the country who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership potential and an interest in a career in medicine.

The program, which began on June 20, is designed to introduce students to a variety of concepts in public health, medical ethics, research and general practice, and will include site visits to medical facilities and clinics.

Miss Preston is a rising senior at Southern Wayne High School, where she is a member of the National Honor Society, Science Club, Health Occupations, Students of America, National Art Society and Junior Civitans. She also participates in Wayne County Junior Leadership Program and the Goldsboro Youth Council and serves as a volunteer at Kitty Askins Hospice Center.

She is the daughter of Tom and Connie Preston of Mount Olive and the granddaughter of Elwood and Joyce Jones of Mount Olive and Rachel Gay Brown of Pikeville. She has two older brothers, Thomas and Justin.

Erica Lancaster Tillman of Pikeville, Angie Grove Hart, Thomas Brent Overman, Richard Shannon Proctor, Laura Rebecca Sauls, Irish Anne Enriquez Villaviza of Fremont, James Charles Farfour, Anthony Hall and Amanda Rogers of Goldsboro are on the spring semester dean's list at Wilson Technical Community College. To be named to the list, a student must achieve a grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

The following students were among the Wilson Technical Community College's spring graduates: Charles Francois Dube, Carrie S. Hainey and Christopher Don Wilkerson of Fremont ; Robert Sherman Loreman and Amanda West Rogers of Goldsboro; and Gary Brandon Holland and William Todd Willoughby of Princeton.

The following Mount Olive College students earned a 4.0 grade point average for the spring semester and are on the President's List:

Jonathan Barwick of Seven Springs; Paige Bazemore, Britton Hoggard, Andrea Houston, Amanda Kelly, Kari Phillips, Patrick Seiler and Kerry Wolfe of Goldsboro; Sarah Crumpler, Michael Erexson and Rebecca Whitley of Mount Olive; Brent Heath and Andrew Mitchell of Dudley; Sharon Nethercutt and Billy Overton of Pikeville.

And these students earned between a 3.5 and a 4.0 and are on the dean's list: Colette Adams and Jessica Murphy of Pikeville; Caroline Bounds, Dave Bourgeois, Tammy Bryant, Vernon Capps, Joshua Carter, Rhonda Christie, Alex Givens, Robin Hackmann, Jessica Hauf, Jennifer Houser, Sascha Kahrs, Kimberly Langston, Todd MacCoy, Mark Miller, Johnna Nelson, Jacqueline Oates, Jacob Paugh, Marcy Paul, Caroline Phifer, Parley Potter, Judy Robbins, Michael Robbins, Rema Sabra, Jennifer Scott, Brandy Smith, Lindsey Snyder, Andre Southerland, Stephen Sullivan, Wendy Tabar, Clarence Thompson, Nikkole Weythman, Gina Willis and Morgane Zander of Goldsboro; Tyler Barwick, Timothy Best, Arlina Campuzano, Bobbie Grady, Myranda Gulledge, Staci Holland, Amy Holmes, Debra Hope, Ryan Hurba, Jason Lancaster, Ashley McDonald, Heather Ressler, Sallie Strickland and Amanda Truzy of Mount Olive; Jennifer Heatley, Emma Sexton and Alesia Wooten of Dudley; and Jennifer Jones and Trenton Miller of Seven Springs.

The following Wayne County residents received bachelor's degrees from Mount Olive College during its 50th spring commencement ceremony in May:

Kari Allen, Christopher Arthur, Donald Baynard, Zachary Besso, Pamela Braswell, Tiffany Brice, Paula Broadhurst, Charlonda Brown, Christopher Cabuzzi, Everette Campbell, Sarah Crumpler.

Andrea Curtis, Daniel Dahlke, John Daniels, Lisa Dudley, Tosharika Elam, Eugene Forde, Jody Fulghum, George Futrelle, Curtis Howell, Donald Jarman, Kenneth Jefferson Jr., Shawn Jennings.

Alphonso Jones, Tresa Jones, Bjorn Kahrs, Michelle Kelley, Benjamin Kratzer, Terry Lee, Samantha LeMay, Sharon Mack, Maureen Mapes, Angela McDowell, Jackie McElroy, Angela McLamb, Andrew Mitchell.

Sharity Moses, Jessica Murphy, Cindi Olson, Tonya Pereira, Sharita Quinn, Karl Rabun, Beverly Reitnauer, Robert Schroeder, Juane Schutte, Mistic Seiler, June Sitrin, Keith Smiech.

Brandy Smith, DaVonda St. Clair, Henry Staten, Lola Steiner, Charles Strange, Stephen Sullivan, Ralph Sutton, Connie Thompson, Leonard Thompson, Karen Vinson, Michael Voccola Jr., Timothy Warren.

And, Vicky Warrick, Cassie Whitley, Agatha Williams, Ricky Willis, Kerry Wolfe, Alesia Wooten and Angela Wright.

Matthew Keith Ruffin of Goldsboro has been awarded a Campbell University Presidential Scholarship.

He is a graduate of Charles B. Aycock High School, where he was a member of the National Honor Society, soccer team and yearbook staff and was president of the Future Business Leaders of America. He was named to "Who's Who Among American High School Students" and served as a volunteer with the American Red Cross.

He is the son of Randy and Denise Ruffin.

Stephanie Love Bostic of Goldsboro has been awarded a Scott-Ellis Transfer Scholarship to attend Campbell University.

She graduated from Rosewood High School, where she was a cheerleader and member of the Beta Club, National Honor Society, FBLA and Student Government. She attended Lenoir Community College, where she was a dean's list student and a member of Phi Theta Kappa.

She is the daughter of Shirley L. Bostic and the late Rev. Steven D. Bostic.

Liza Rae Davis has been awarded a Campbell University Presidential Scholarship.

She is a graduate of Charles B. Aycock High School where she was a marshal and a member of the National Honor Society, played basketball and ran track.

She is the daughter of Gary and Kathy Davis.

Christine Mayo, a recent graduate of East Carolina University, is spending this summer researching the history of Blackbeard.

Miss Mayo, who is originally from Goldsboro, is serving as an intern at Bath State Historic Site.

She is the only recipient of the 2004 Anderson Internship Grant given by the American Association for State and Local History. This internship is nationally funded and the grant will support Miss Mayo's designing two new exhibits for Historic Bath to display the results of her research.

One exhibit will showcase the life of Blackbeard and the pop culture that surrounds him.

The second exhibit will display historical facts on John Lawson, surveyor-general of North Carolina in the early 1700s and co-founder of Bath in 1705.

Her research and design work, which began on June 1, will go through July 20.

Her mother, Colleen Kearny Mayo, received a master of science in nursing from the Medical University in South Carolina on May 21.