06/27/04 — Wayne piano students compete

View Archive

Wayne piano students compete

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on June 27, 2004 2:00 AM

Eighty students from Wayne and surrounding counties participated in the National Guild of Piano Teachers Piano-Playing Auditions held in Goldsboro. The pianists performed for local, district, hobbyist, state, national and international honors.

The American College of Musicians evaluate students' performances based upon their presentation of baroque, classic, romantic and modern works. Each student performed in the presence of a professional adjudicator chosen by the national organization who examines their repertoire.

Mrs. Elizabeth Goethe of Maryland was this year's judge.

Entrants and their categories are as follows:

Students of Roselyn Edwards -- International: Zara Shaw and Tiffany Strusz; National: Ashley Strusz.

Students of Beverly Justice Sager -- National: Catherine Fairchild, Amanda Holland, Brianna Holland, Hannah Lee, Marisa Dawn Linton, Jessica Lauren Seymour, Daniel Sullivan, David Sullivan, Martha Summerlin and Kirsten Walters; State: Casey Croom; District: Leanna Rene Dudley, Kesley Dee Fleming, Cullen Grantham, Gage Haveri and Olivia Neal; Local: Lauren Elizabeth Dudley, Mollianne Christina Kennedy, Brooke Neal and Danielle Stanley.

Students of Bill and Bess Edwards-Sawyer -- International: Jessie Artlecty Stewart, Kenan Lewis Stewart, Victor Brozovsky, LeAnne Brozovsky and Andrew Harper; National: Leslie Crawford, Sarah Crawford, Molly Peacock, Hannah Glover, Zachary Tubb, Rob Hankins, Catherine Hooks, Katherine Laramee, Amanda Knutson, Patricia Owen, Samuel Best, Sarah Beth Schupner, Miriam Clarke, Andrew Clarke, Amy Clarke, Ellen Morgan, Maggie Banks, Judy Hatch, Jessica Best and Sterling Coggins; State: Lindsey Whaley and John Mitchell; District: Tess Allen, Molly Glover, Kristen Larson, Lisa Peacock, Christopher Easom, Nathan Tubb, Nolan Tubb, Gina Wall, Sara Boltinhouse and Matthew Griffin. And, Hobbyist: Emily Best.

Victor Brozovsky and Andrew Harper received the Sonatina Medal and LeAnne Brozovsky received the Early Bach Medal.

Amanda Jo Knutson received the Paderwski Medal, given to students who complete a National program for 10 years.

Students of Amy Thompson Smith -- National: Elizabeth Leever and Destiny Leever.

And, students of Ann Sutton -- State: Lindsey Nicole Crain, Hye Jin Cho. And, National: Emily Grace Yarborough.

Throughout the United States and abroad, over 100,000 piano pupils participate in the annual auditions, which are held in over 880 music centers. Each entrant receives a certificate; a gold, silver or bronze embossed pin; a report card; and a year's membership in the National Fraternity of Student Musicians.

Established in 1929 by Dr. Irl Allison, the first auditions were held at Harbin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas. The national headquarters is maintained in Austin, Texas.

Bess Edwards-Sawyer serves as the Goldsboro area chairman.