07/21/04 — Only about 13 percent turn out for elections in Wayne

View Archive

Only about 13 percent turn out for elections in Wayne

By Matt Shaw
Published in News on July 21, 2004 2:06 PM

Wayne County had only a light voter turnout for Tuesday's primaries and special election.

The Board of Elections was still determining this morning how many ballots were cast, but turnout was less than 7,500, or about 13 percent of eligible voters.

In the governor's race, local Republicans threw their support behind former Congressman Bill Cobey, who received 1,180 votes, or 42 percent, in unofficial returns.

Former legislator Patrick Ballantine, who campaigned here Monday, received 706, or 20 percent, followed by former Charlotte Mayor Richard Vinroot with 552 (20 percent); Davie County Commissioner Dan Barrett 244 (9 percent); legislator Fern Shubert 64 (2 percent); and Southern Pines businessman George Little 45 (2 percent).

Statewide, Ballantine and Vinroot finished in a virtual tie and will face a runoff Tuesday, Aug. 17.

The closest race among county voters was the Democratic primary for agriculture commissioner. Britt Cobb, who now holds the office, received 2,144 votes, compared to 2,116 for challenger Tom Gilmore.

Statewide, Cobb also edged out Gilmore and will now face Republican Steve Troxler in the fall.

The county's unofficial vote totals in other primaries were:

*U.S. Senate, Republican -- Richard Burr 2,417; John Ross Hendrix 141; Albert Lee Wiley Jr. 112.

*U.S. House, 1st District, Democrat -- G.K. Butterfield 1,941, Don Davis 144, Sam Davis 124, Christine Fitch 191, Darryl Smith 78.

*U.S. House, 1st District, Republican -- Greg Dority 803, Jerry N. Williford 113.

*Governor, Democrat -- Mike Easley 3,787, Rickey Kepfer 847.

*Lieutenant Governor, Republican -- Timothy Cook 686, Jim Snyder 1,292, Thomas Stith 481.

*Attorney General, Republican -- Thom Goolsby 1,059, Joe Knott 963, Wendell Sawyer 471.

*Auditor, Republican -- Jasper N. Albright 690, Leslie Merritt 1,665.

*Commissioner of Insurance, Republican -- C. Robert Brawley 1,193, Cindy Huntsberry 1,213.

*Commissioner of Labor, Republican -- Cherie Berry 1,604, Lloyd T. Funderburk 883.

*Schools Superintendent, Democrat -- June S. Atkinson 977, J.B. Buxton 1,095, Marshall Stewart 2,065.

*Schools Superintendent, Republican -- Bill Fletcher 1,409, Jeanne Smoot 988.

*Secretary of State, Democrat -- Elaine Marshall 3,826, Doris A. Sanders 635.

*N.C. Court of Appeals, Nonpartisan -- Barbara Jackson 2,867, Marvin Schiller 650, Alan Thornburg 1,987, Marcus Williams 755.

The Board of Elections will canvass the vote next Tuesday and determine the final official returns.