08/06/04 — Teacher of the year finalists down to three

View Archive

Teacher of the year finalists down to three

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on August 6, 2004 1:57 PM

The candidates for the 2004-2005 Wayne County public schools' Teacher of the Year have been narrowed down to a field of three. From these finalists, the district's Teacher of the Year will be selected and announced at the annual banquet Thursday.

Each school nominates a Teacher of the Year to compete in the process. From a group of 31 candidates, one Twiford WorldView Travel Award winner is selected for the elementary grades, one for the middle grades, and one for the high school level.

Karen C. Morgan, a third-grade teacher at Carver Elementary School, is the winner of the elementary travel award. She will receive a $5,000 stipend.

At the middle school level, Marion Carter, a technology education teacher for grades 6-8 at Mount Olive Middle School, was selected as the top teacher.

He also will receive $5,000 for travel.

The high school Teacher of the Year award goes to Freda Allen, a mathematics teacher at Southern Wayne High School. She will receive a $5,000 stipend.

"As in the past, the selection process for Teacher of the Year in each of the specific categories has been a most difficult task," said Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent of schools. "All applicants demonstrated the qualities that are paramount with respect to excellent teachers, but only three could be selected.

"Congratulations to all nominees, and especially to teachers selected in each category. We are proud of their accomplishments in the classroom. They make each school day special for their students."

Having the Twiford WorldView Award as a part of the Teacher of the Year process is unique to Wayne County Public Schools, said Olivia Pierce, executive director of community relations. The Goldsboro Rotary Club established the travel award in memory of Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Twiford, former educators in the Goldsboro city schools. Individuals and businesses fund the grants through contributions.

"We thank the individuals and the business community for continuing to make this possible," Mrs. Pierce said. "The experiences these teachers gain through their travels not only enrich them as individuals, but also the students they teach."

The teacher selected as the school system's Teacher of the Year will go on to compete at the regional and state levels.

Lettye Clark, who teaches mathematics at Goldsboro High School, was named the district's Teacher of the Year for 2003-2004. She was also chosen as one of the finalists in regional competition.

This year's list of other nominees are: Erica Bennett, Belfast Academy; Beyanka Lewis, Brogden Middle; Stephanie Lane, Brogden Primary; Lisa Bryant, Carver Heights Elementary; Beth Hagwood, Charles B. Aycock High; Bernadette Hamilton, Dillard Middle; Victoria Olmsted, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Mary Daly, Eastern Wayne High; Thomasa Mathis, Eastern Wayne Middle; Sonja Emerson, Edgewood Community Developmental; Barbara Green, Fremont STARS Elementary; Harold Barnes, Jr., Goldsboro High; Rebecca Spivey, Goldsboro Middle; Angela Joyner, Grantham; Hope Herring, Greenwood Middle; Roxanne Amyette, Meadow Lane Elementary; Nicole Barrett, North Drive Elementary, Karen Mzyk, Northeast Elementary; Sandra Burnette, Northwest Elementary; Pam Lipcsak, Norwayne Middle; Jenni Uzzell, Rosewood Elementary; Jennifer Cochran, Rosewood High; LeJeannea Hietpas, Rosewood Middle; Glinda Kornegay, School Street Elementary; Patricia Stevens, Southern Academy; Linda Rice, Spring Creek Elementary; Pamela Lewis, Spring Creek High; and Kim Copeland, Tommy's Road Elementary.