08/16/04 — Horton, Nobers get Hermans

View Archive

Horton, Nobers get Hermans

By Winkie Lee
Published in News on August 16, 2004 1:58 PM

It was a lucky Friday the 13th for winners of Center Stage Theatre's Herman Awards.

Twenty-one awards were presented during the annual ceremony at Herman Park Center.

This year's theme was "Masquerade Ball," and many of the participants came in costume.

Emcees for the event were Michael Corbitt, Dr. Teague Horton, Terence Powell and Bobby Boyd, all members of Center Stage.

The men also performed a variety of Broadway tunes.

The winners of the Herman Awards were:

*Best Actor: Teague Horton, "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum"

*Best Actress: Sue Nobers, "Best Little Whorehouse in Texas"

*Best Supporting Actor: Terence Powell, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Best Supporting Actress: Sara Garren, "The Mousetrap"

*Best Special Performance Actor (tie): Jay St. Amant, "A Funny Thing ...," and Wesley Dills, "Best ..."

*Best Special Performance Actress: Debbie McLendon, "Best ..."

*Outstanding Performance Male Vocalist: Craig Millard, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Outstanding Performance Female Vocalist: Okisha Wells, "Best ..."

*Best Director: Sandra Evans, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Katherine Costa Award for Choreography: Robin Boyd-Webster, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Best Musical Director: Mike Nault, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Rich and K.J. Bernstein Award for Lighting: Bobby Boyd, "The Mousetrap"

*Best Set Design: Cheyenne Corbitt and Bobby Boyd, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Best Costume Designer: Michael Corbitt, "A Funny Thing ..."

*Fran Newby Award: Cathy Stelly

*Director's Awards: Cheyenne Corbitt, "A Funny Thing ..."; Bridget Behrens, "The Mousetrap"; Deanne Morris, "MASH"; Mike Nault, "Best ..."

*President's Aåward: Anne Angelo

*Shannon Horton Award: Kelly Cosgrove