12/06/04 — Commissioners choose Evans as chairman

View Archive

Commissioners choose Evans as chairman

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on December 6, 2004 2:16 PM

The Wayne County commissioners held their first meeting today with the new board and launched right in to selecting a chairman and vice chairman.

The chairman vote went without dissent. The current chairman, J.D. Evans, won the post unanimously.

Partisanship, however, played a role in the vote for vice chairman.

Republican Efton Sager nominated his fellow GOP member, Andy Anderson.

But with five Democrats on the seven-member board, Sager's nominee was beat 5-2.

The Republicans seemed to take it well. There was no public comment about the vote.

Atlas Price won the seat, and the board moved along to other matters.

Before the vote, the board was sworn in for a four-year term.

Bud Gray, a Democrat, is the only new face on the board. He will represent District 5, which contains eastern and southern Wayne. He replaces Arnold Flowers, a Republican, who decided not to seek re-election.