04/22/05 — Wayne schools honor volunteers

View Archive

Wayne schools honor volunteers

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on April 22, 2005 1:45 PM

Wayne County Public Schools announced its 2004-05 Volunteer of the Year at a reception Thursday at the Wayne Center. School officials also honored three of the district's top business partners.

Superintendent Dr. Steven Taylor presented the Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year Award to Carmen "Cookie" Almodovar, a volunteer at Grantham School.

During the past four years, Mrs. Almodovar has given 10-20 hours a week to the school, Taylor said. In nominating her for the award, comments included how helpful she was shelving books in the library, working with classmates or serving meals in the lunchroom.

"I know the value of having someone available at the school level who can assist our Latino families and students," Taylor said. "This volunteer has assisted also in two very busy areas of the school - the cafeteria and with the custodial staff. But, more importantly than what I feel, are the comments from others about this very worthy volunteer."

He said accolades came from the head custodian at the school and the lunchroom manager, with perhaps the most important endorsement received from a student:

"She has helped me with my reading and multiplication tables," wrote Grantham fourth-grader Anuar Ramirez. "I can read better because of her help. She helps me with my homework. She is my friend; and she is nice to me."

School officials also recognized three Partners in Education. Since 1995, the Partners in Education program has made significant contributions to schools by donating time, expertise, materials and funds. Awards were given in three categories - Small Partner in Education Award for a business/organization with up to 15 employees or members, Medium Partner (15-50 members) and Large Partner (more than 50 members).

Don Neal, chairman of the Steering Committee, presented the awards. Heritage Bank, which was nominated by Fremont STARS Elementary School, received the award in the small partner category. McDonald's of Mt. Olive, nominated by Carver Elementary School, was selected in the medium partner category. Seymour Johnson Air Force Base, nominated by Greenwood Middle School, was recognized in the large partner category.

Volunteers in the school system ranged in age from 20 to 88. The list of 2004-05 Volunteers of the Year includes: Nora Grantham, Belfast Academy; Fred Shadding and Jimmie Ford, Brogden Middle; Sharon Artia, Brogden Primary; Eleanor Brubeck, Carver Elementary; Mark Helms, Carver Heights Elementary; T. J. Lancaster, Charles B. Aycock High; Sharon Canady, Dillard Middle; Robin Ivey, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Mathilda Rose Kendrick, Eastern Wayne High; MSgt. David Batiz, Eastern Wayne Middle; Heather Long, Edgewood; Wayne Mundle, Fremont STARS Elementary; Tonette Artis, Goldsboro High; Leslie Stevens, Goldsboro Middle; Carmen Almodovar, Grantham; Connie Rouse, Greenwood Middle; Monica Patterson, Meadow Lane Elementary; Lou Lichthardt, Mt. Olive Middle; Addie Mae Norman, North Drive Elementary; Hillary Todd, Northeast Elementary; Kris Emig, Northwest Elementary; Royce Aycock, Norwayne Middle; Michele Weeks, Rosewood Elementary; Danny Hope, Rosewood High; Amanda Bill, Rosewood Middle; Patricia Stokes, School Street Elementary; Linda Durham, Southern Academy; Devonya Massey, Southern Wayne High; Amy Radford, Spring Creek Elementary; Ann Lowder, Spring Creek High; and Sarah Daughtry, Tommy's Road Elementary.