05/01/05 — Wayne students earn top honors at technology event

View Archive

Wayne students earn top honors at technology event

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on May 1, 2005 2:01 AM

Student teams from four area schools captured top honors during the Technology Student Association state competition, held recently in Greensboro.

Mount Olive Middle School was named top middle school chapter in the state, defeating 23 other middle schools and winning 17 events. The team has been invited to participate in the national competition, to be held in Chicago at the end of June.

Eastern Wayne High School, with 14 students in the competition, had two students chosen to serve in state office and was named first place chapter team.

Likewise, Norwayne Middle School and Eastern Wayne Middle earned a number of top awards.

The following is a list of winners from each school.

Mount Olive Middle: First place awards went to Stephanie Bellefeuille and Paige Robinson in biotechnology; Amber Bowden in communication challenge and technical writing; Lauren Darden, graphic design and prepared speech; Phil Howell and Lauren Darden in t-shirt design; and Amberly Martin in TSA talk.

Second place prizes were given to Olivia Whitman in computer applications, and the Amberly Martin and Lauren Darden for the video challenge category.

Third place awards went to Lauren Darden for career challenge; Stephanie Bellefeuille, Thomas Ferrell and Jerick Garett for construction challenge; Amber Bowden, Clarice Sherard and Olivia Whitman for cyberspace; Billy Barwick, Elizabeth Evans and Olivia Whitman for leadership challenge; Amanda Edwards, Morgan Roberts and Michael Lee for manufacturing challenge; Ethan Brogden and Thomas Ferrell for mechanical challenge; Billy Barwick, Tyler Edwards, Phil Howell and Jordan Williams for medical challenge; and Morgan Roberts and Clarice Sherard for video challenge.

Norwayne Middle School received these awards:

First place: Blake Vail and Daniel Raynor, each for marine design challenge and inventions and innovations; and Nicole McGrath, Hollie Baker, and Capen Rhew for construction challenge.

Second place: Blake Vail, Hollie Baker, and Nicole McGrath for manufacturing challenge; Khendra Reid for dragster design challenge and mechanical challenge; Jennifer Warren for digital design challenge and agriculture and biotechnology; Rebecca Setliff for environmental challenge and agriculture and biotechnology; Lavita Applewhite for environmental challenge; Ben Nichols for agriculture and biotechnology; and Garrett Ferrell for mechanical challenge.

Third place: Capen Rhew for TSA talk; and Lauren Langston for communication challenge.

Eastern Wayne Middle School winners included:

First place chapter team, consisting of Zach Beachem, Leslie Cox, Eric Gross, Sydney Hines, Alexander Robinson and Jessica Santiago. Other first place awards went to Beachem, Robinson, and Santiago for leadership challenge; Michael Dickerson for technology bowl written; and Douglas Boltinhouse, Michael Dickerson and Eric Gross for technical bowl oral.

Second place: Deborah Doran for flight challenge; Alyssa Coke, Brianna Savery and Ashley Thigpen for medical technology; and Raya Taylor for technical writing challenge.

Third place: Alex Henson for prepared speech; Alexander Robinson and Tyler Worrell for structural challenge; and Anna Hajjar, Jessica Santiago and Tyler Worrell for system control.

Raya Taylor was also inducted as state TSA middle school representative. All 20 students who represented the school's club came in second place in a contest among all the schools for raising the most money for the American Cancer Society.

From Eastern Wayne High School, Joey Burridge was elected state president and Keli Artis was elected state treasurer.

First place prizes went to Erin Alemdar, Keli Artis, Joey Burridge, Ann Dixon, Michael McKnight, and Kristin Mewborn, chapter team; Sarah Compton for medical technology; Ann Dixon, chapter team; Michael McKnight, CAD 3D ENG, technical sketching and application; and Melissa Ricker, medical technology.

Third place: Ben Wines for prepared presentation; Ben Wines and Eric Stover for technology problem solving; and Michael McKnight and Mark Huetter for electronic research and experimentation.