05/04/05 — Schools recognize secretaries

View Archive

Schools recognize secretaries

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on May 4, 2005 1:46 PM

The Wayne County Association of Educational Office Professionals held its annual installation banquet this week, presenting several awards and installing officers.

A $500 scholarship was awarded to Christopher Campbell, a senior at Eastern Wayne High School. Campbell plans to pursue a degree at UNC-Pembroke, working toward a bachelor's degree in psychology and a master's degree in counseling.

According to his counselor, he is ranked in the top third of his class. He was recognized as the Most Valuable Player in basketball and track and is the youngest to receive the Key to the Town Award presented by the major of LaGrange. He volunteers at the Goldsboro Soup Kitchen, the Thrift Store and the American Lung Association.

Hope Meyerhoeffer was selected as the Administrator of the Year. She is the school district's director of elementary education, English as a second language, visual arts, English/language arts and Effective Schools.

Mrs. Meyerhoeffer began her career in Wayne County in 1977 as a teacher at Goldsboro High School and later taught at Goldsboro Middle School. She came to the central office in 1986.

Dr. Sandra McCullen, associate superintendent for curriculum and instruction, said, "Mrs. Meyerhoeffer is an exceptional curriculum supervisor. She provides leadership to many curriculum programs that require the support of all Wayne County Public Schools' central office departments. She always shows her appreciation to the educational support staff who work with her, and they sense her caring and empathic attitude."

Barbara Simmons was selected as educational office professional of the year. She is the receptionist at the central office and was employed by the school system in September 1996.

She is an invaluable part of the central office staff, said Olivia Pierce, executive director for community relations, media and technology.

"As our front desk receptionist, Mrs. Simmons is a true diplomat who always represents our school system in a positive, professional manner," Mrs. Pierce said. "She is professional in everything she does."

Officers installed for the 2005-06 school year include Marjorie Dozier, president; Tonya Easterwood, vice-president; Rosa Bourgeois, secretary; Linda Williams, assistant secretary; Evon Waters, treasurer; and Lovie McKeel, chaplain.