05/19/05 — City officials honor members of Goldsboro Youth Council

View Archive

City officials honor members of Goldsboro Youth Council

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on May 19, 2005 1:45 PM

Mayor Al King and the Goldsboro City Council honored 22 high school seniors this week who have been members of the Goldsboro Youth Council.

Community Affairs Director LaTerrie Ward introduced the seniors at Monday's City Council meeting. City officials then individually took time to thank each of the students in attendance.

King called the teens "shining examples of what young people can do it they put their minds to it."

The Youth Council has participated in several services projects, Ms. Ward said. These have included providing Christmas gifts to children chosen off the Angel Trees at Berkeley Mall; playing bingo with residents of Brian Center; making Thanksgiving baskets for needy families; collecting, sorting and packaging school kits for the Marion Edwards Recovery Center Initiatives; preparing meals at a soup kitchen; and hiding 3,000 eggs for the city's annual Easter Egg hunt.

They have also raised money for different projects, including the Empty Stocking Fund, Operation Santa Claus and Pennies from Angels.

The Goldsboro Youth Council was recently honored at the State Youth Council Annual Spring Convention as having both the most diverse and most outstanding youth council in the state, Ms. Ward said.

Three students received $500 college scholarships from the Youth Council. They include Rachel Leigh Coggins, C.B. Aycock; Rose Antoinette Parks, Spring Creek; and Donald Stephond Rouse, Eastern Wayne.

The other seniors honored included Mallory Laine Albertson, Spring Creek; Alex Sotirios Benton, Rosewood High; Mimi Bridgers, Wayne Country Day; Kenneth Jamison Crampton, Spring Creek; Robert Americo Gambella, Eastern Wayne; Jonathan Lee Greene, Wayne Christian; Emily Brooks Holloman, Wayne County Day; Richard Howell, Wayne Christian; Karina Lizbet Jimenez, Southern Wayne; Allan Clark Pangburn, Southern Wayne; Cynthia Susan Potter, Goldsboro High; Allison Michelle Preston, Southern Wayne; Jonathan Alan Ray, C.B. Aycock; Brittany Allyce Robbins, Rosewood; Milburn Tyrone Simmons, C.B. Aycock; Britney Regina Smith, Eastern Wayne; Cody Allan West, Goldsboro High; Laura Kristina Whitfield, Eastern Wayne; and Laura Elizabeth Ziemer, Wayne County Day.