05/29/05 — Wayne school bus drivers honored

View Archive

Wayne school bus drivers honored

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on May 29, 2005 2:00 AM

From staff reports

Wayne County Public Schools honored bus drivers from all 31 schools recently for their safety behind the wheel and service to the school system.

Schools superintendent Dr. Steven Taylor and Board of Education members were on hand during a reception to honor the more than 200 bus drivers employed by the school system. Transportation director Raymond Smith said that recruiting and retaining bus drivers is a constant challenge, and recognizing the efforts of those committed to the effort was important.

James Crawford, a driver for the central attendance area schools, was named driver of the year.

Mechanics also play an important part in keeping buses in top shape and schedules running smoothly, Smith said. Ricky West was selected as this year's mechanic of the year.

Principals and bus drivers at each school selected a driver of the year for their respecrive schools. Additionally, the 4-H program recognized several drivers for their dedication in serving children.

Among the bus drivers recognized for years of service without an accident included Ann Britt of Northwest Elementary School, 23 years; Dorothy Strickland, Spring Creek High, 19 years; Sarah Hales, Northwest Elementary, 18 years; Wanda Radford, Spring Creek High, 17 years; Brenda Robinson, Grantham, 16 years; James Crawford, central attendance area, and Katherine Ham, Rosewood Elementary, 15 years each; Doris Barwick, Spring Creek High, 13 years; James Bunch, Norwayne Middle, 11 years; and Ethel Britt, Grantham, Vicky Harper, driving for both Brogden Middle and Primary schools, and Alice Skinner, Spring Creek Elementary, all with 10 years accident-free.