06/20/05 — Duplin County will also need to fill seats this fall

View Archive

Duplin County will also need to fill seats this fall

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on June 20, 2005 1:45 PM

KENANSVILLE -- Duplin County residents who want to have a say in their government can file for one of several open seats this fall.

The filing period begins at noon July 1 and continues until noon Aug. 5.

The clerk of court and two board of education members are up for re-election, and the Calypso and Faison town boards have several seats on the slate as well.

Duplin Clerk of Court Katie Harrell of Kenansville could seek a second term.

Duplin Board of Education Chairman Emily Manning of Kenansville, which is in District 3, and board member Graham Phillips of Wallace, which is in District 4, are up for re-election.

Calypso Mayor Tom Reaves and all five board members will also have to defend their seats in November.

Town commissioner Rubylene Lambert, who the board appointed to fill Dick Lewis' unexpired term, said she plans not to run again.

Commissioner Ralph Britt said he has not thought about what he will do this fall, but said he is building a house outside the town limits, which would disqualify him from serving on the board.

Other board members whose seats will be open include Diane Lewis, Greg Day and Sandra Oates.

Faison Mayor Bill Igoe and two town commissioners, Curt Sheaffer and Ruby Hobbs, would also have to defend their seats this fall.

Igoe said he is not planning to run again.

Sheaffer said he has not decided if he will run.