07/10/05 — Energy co-op awards scholarships to 35

View Archive

Energy co-op awards scholarships to 35

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on July 10, 2005 2:00 AM

Thirty-five high school seniors from Wayne, Duplin and Lenoir counties have been awarded scholarships totaling $15,750 from the Tri-County Electric Member-ship Corp.'s employee-funded scholarship program.

A banquet was held to recognize the students and their parents on May 1.

"Our employees work hard to make this possible," said General Manager Michael Davis. "They believe in the future of our young people and hope each student receiving a scholarship will be successful in obtaining their education."

Employees' hard work to raise the money for these awards has made it possible for the corporation to present 135 scholarships totaling $61,000 since 2001, Davis said.

"We congratulate the 2005 winners," he said. "They are all outstanding students in their local schools."

This year's recipients and the college or university for each are:

*Charles B. Aycock High School -- Robert A. Parchman, Wayne Community College; Amber Rewis, East Carolina University.

*Eastern Wayne High School -- Brittany Lauren Ham, Wayne Community College; Darliene Hopes, North Carolina A&T State University.

*Rosewood High School -- Hannah Aycock, UNC-Wilmington, Leah Smith, North Carolina State University

*Southern Wayne High School -- Colby Scott Johnson, Wayne Community College; Stephanie Martin, Wingate University; Betsy Overman, Elon University; Crystal Prince, Barton College; Karen L. Thornton, Wayne Community College; Mark P. Whaley, Wayne Community College.

*Spring Creek High School -- Amber Jones, Campbell University; Morgan Parks, East Carolina University.

*James Kenan High School -- Diondra Best, Elizabeth City State University; S. Matthew Levai, James Sprunt Community College.

*East Duplin High School -- Mandy Blizzard, James Sprunt Community College; Amie Bostic, UNC-Chapel Hill; Heather Byrd, Barton College; Dena Davis, East Carolina University; James C. Jones, UNC-Wilmington; Kristen Knowles, Mount Olive College; Nicole Lee, East Carolina University; Kendra Stroud, Mount Olive College.

*North Duplin High School -- Ashley Ivey, East Carolina University; Stephanie L. Ivey, UNC-Wilmington; Carlos Josh Marquez, Mount Olive College; Brooke Swinson, UNC-Chapel Hill.

*North Lenoir High School -- Donald Beal, East Carolina University; Douglas Beal, UNC-Wilmington; Vanessa Burge, North Carolina State University; Lauren Nicole Sullivan, East Carolina University; LaTonya Taylor, UNC-Chapel Hill.

*South Lenoir High School -- Candice Raines, East Carolina University; Austin A. Rouse, UNC-Chapel Hill.