07/17/05 — Goldsboro Continental Society honored at national conclave

View Archive

Goldsboro Continental Society honored at national conclave

By Other
Published in News on July 17, 2005 2:01 AM

Members of the Goldsboro Chapter of the Continental Societies Inc. have had a busy spring and summer.

The local organization hosted the 21st Mid Atlantic Regional Conference this spring. And members of the organization have just returned from the National Conclave in Hampton, Va., where they won numerous honors and awards.

The Goldsboro chapter was recognized for "outstanding services to children and youth with special needs."

The chapter was organized in 1961 by Mrs. Gertrude Cox and has been serving Wayne County and neighboring communities with distinction since it's inception.

The national awards included a plaque for HEER+1 (Health, Education, Employ-ment, Recreation and the Arts and Humanities) award of excellence; a plaque or the completion of national projects in the areas of literacy and asthma awareness; second place in the HEER+1 national display competition; third place overall in the HEALTH component; and a special citation for the most creative and unique cover page for the five HEER+1 reports.

The theme of the Mid Atlantic Regional Conference earlier this year in Goldsboro was "Our Children, Our Concern, Our Commitment."

Goldsboro Mayor Al King, state Sen. John Kerr, Wayne Commissioner J.D. Evans and school board member Thelma Smith gave opening remarks.

The Continental Society was praised for its many years of good works in the community and their continued efforts to help disadvantaged children.

Dr. Margaret Brewington-Douglas was the keynote speaker for the awards and recognition luncheon.

New regional officers were installed. They are Dr. Nancy Wilson, regional director; Comatha Johnson, first vice regional director; Olivia Osei-Sarfo, second vice regional director; Gail Anderson, recording secretary; Jean Roach, corresponding secretary; Evelyn Anderson, treasurer; Gwendolyn Johnson, financial secretary; Florence Blount, historian; Cyntina Hobley, public relations; Forsynthia Powell, chaplain; and Carolyn Crump, sergeant-at-arms.