07/24/05 — Wayne schools choose individual Teachers of the Year

View Archive

Wayne schools choose individual Teachers of the Year

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on July 24, 2005 2:00 AM

From staff reports

Wayne County schools have chosen 30 teachers to move to the head of the class.

Each of the district's 31 schools nominated a candidate to compete for the honor of being Wayne County Public Schools' Teacher of the Year. From that pool, evaluators will select one finalist for the elementary, middle and high school levels.

The 2005-06 Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual banquet Aug. 18.

The teacher selected to represent the county will go on to compete at the regional level.

Each finalist will also receive a $5,000 Twiford Travel Award to travel to a country outside the United States. The Goldsboro Rotary Club established the award in memory of C.W. Twiford, former principal of Goldsboro High School. Individuals and businesses contribute to grant funds.

The program enhances the teachers' global perspective, which then transfers to students in the form of exciting lessons and classroom experiences.

"We are fortunate to have a program of such caliber in Wayne County Public Schools," Superinten-dent Dr. Steven Taylor said. "The opportunities the travel experience opens to our teachers are invaluable to their personal and professional development."

Taylor also said teachers chosen this year represent the best of their profession and have demonstrated a commitment to helping their students advance.

The 2005-06 Teachers of the Year for each school are:

n Belfast Academy: William G. Sheffield

n Brogden Middle School: Anita R. Sanders

n Brogden Primary School: Lorraine Bynum

n Carver Elementary School: Candace G. Outlaw

n Carver Heights Elementary School: Carla D. Johnson

n Charles B. Aycock High School: Anne M. Kosuda

n Dillard Middle School: Junius Shealy

n Eastern Wayne Elementary School: Vicki S. Bannister

n Eastern Wayne High School: Michael Daughtry

n Eastern Wayne Middle School: Angela K. Mozingo

n Edgewood Community Development School: Kimberly N. Weisiger

n Fremont STARS Elementary School: James W. Grant IV

n Goldsboro High School: Tonya Faison

n Goldsboro Middle School: Carvin Lucas

n Grantham School: Andy Wingate

n Greenwood Middle School: Faith Newell

n Meadow Lane Elementary School: Terri G. Thompson

n Mount Olive Middle School: Gail Rena Mason

n North Drive Elementary School: Antoinette Ward

n Northeast Elementary School: Kevin Massey

n Northwest Elementary School: Dorie V. Turnage

n Norwayne Middle School: Stephen Fredrick Jr.

n Rosewood Elementary School: Michele P. Kornegay

n Rosewood High School: Kelly S. Mitchell

n Rosewood Middle School: Kristi D. Proffitt

n School Street Elementary School: Deborah Copeland

n Southern Wayne High School: Nancy B. Walker

n Spring Creek Elementary School: Gale A. Lewis

n Spring Creek High School: Kellie G. Davis

n Tommy's Road Elementary School: Uli Shepard