07/29/05 — District Teacher of the Year finalists

View Archive

District Teacher of the Year finalists

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on July 29, 2005 1:53 PM

The pool for the county's 2005-06 Teacher of the Year has been narrowed down to three finalists.

Evaluators for Wayne County Public Schools will select and announce the district winner at the annual banquet Aug. 18.

In the first round of competition, each public school in the county nominated its own honoree. This week, one winner was chosen to represent the elementary level, along with one each for the middle and high school levels.

The elementary schools' Teacher of the Year is Gale Lewis, a kindergarten teacher at Spring Creek Elementary School.

Faith Newell, a seventh-grade language arts and social studies teacher at Greenwood Middle School, is the representative for the middle grades.

High school Teacher of the Year is Ann Kosuda, a U.S. history and social studies teacher at Charles B. Aycock High School.

In announcing the latest round of outstanding teachers, school officials said the educators represent the best in the county.

"They, as well as all the other teachers who were candidates for the honor, are to be commended and recognized in their accomplishment," Superintendent Dr. Steven Taylor said. "They show an outstanding commitment to their students and the district."

Each of the three finalists will receive a $5,000 Twiford WorldView Travel Award to travel to a country outside the United States. Goldsboro Rotary Club established the award in memory of former Goldsboro High School Principal C.W. Twiford.

The travel award is considered a unique incentive for the school system.

"(It) provides an invaluable learning experience for teachers that ultimately transfers back into the classroom as teachers share their experience with their students," said Olivia Pierce, executive director of community relations for Wayne County Public Schools.

The county winner will advance to the regional and state levels.