11/09/05 — One vote margin for win for Seven Springs mayor

View Archive

One vote margin for win for Seven Springs mayor

By Andrew Bell
Published in News on November 9, 2005 1:47 PM

Incumbent Mayor Jewel Kilpatrick retained her seat Tuesday by a single vote.

Kilpatrick, who earned a fifth term as mayor, edged out Danny Carter, 19 votes to 18.

The result is unofficial until a canvass next week.

Kilpatrick said today she was surprised by the result.

"I figured it would be a landslide, one way or the other," she said. "That's not much of a majority."

The mayor in Seven Springs serves for two years. Kilpatrick said she hopes to help finish several projects she has shepherded during her time on the town board, including work on the town's park and town hall.

Steve Potter and Hilda Gibbs each received a write-in vote for mayor.

In the other Seven Spring races, Rodolph Adams and Stephen R. Potter were re-elected to four-year terms on the town board.

Potter got 33 votes and Adams 23. Emma Ward, Lou Smith and Gary Grant received a handful of write-in votes.

For more information on the Wayne County's municipal election results, visit www.waynegov.com/boe.