11/09/05 — Pikeville commissioners hold all three seats on town board

View Archive

Pikeville commissioners hold all three seats on town board

By Turner Walston
Published in News on November 9, 2005 1:49 PM

Pikeville's Town Board will look familiar at the commissioners' next meeting. All four incumbents on the ballot were re-elected in Tuesday's municipal elections.

Mayor Herb Sieger, running unopposed, was re-elected with 111 votes. Mary Bailey received six votes for mayor, the most among eight write-in candidates.

Sieger has been the mayor of Pikeville since June 2004, following the resignation of Tony Medlin. Sieger was later chosen mayor by the board of commissioners.

"It will be a pleasure," Sieger said of working again with the current board. "Whatever the people voted for, that's what we're here for, for them."

All three incumbent commissioners up for election earned new four-year terms. Lyman Galloway and Edith McClenny defended their seats. Johnny Weaver, who was elected last year to fill Sieger's former seat, turned back a challenge by Rosie Colvin.

Galloway received 109 votes, Mrs. McClenny, 87, and Dennis Lewis, 79. Write-in candidate Glenn Smith had 19 votes.

"I really appreciate the confidence of the people," Galloway said. "You've been there eight years and they vote you back in, you feel like you're doing a little bit of a good job."

"I think we've got a very congenial board, and we get along together," Mrs. McClenny said. "I'm just real tickled that the citizens of the town saw fit to let me represent them again."

Weaver defeated Colvin 118 to 52 to win an unexpired term that ends in 2007.

Weaver said he believes he represents the town's "silent majority" on the board of commissioners.

"People trust people to make decisions on their behalf," he said. "I've learned a lot in a year. I'm not going to give up."

A total of 183 of the town's residents voted.

"I was hoping for 200, but I'm satisfied," poll judge Judy Strickland said. "We had a very smooth election."

Others getting at least one vote for mayor were Johnny Weaver, Glenn Smith, Vance Greeson, Charlie Howell, Donald Dixon, Pierre Bone and Rosie Colvin.