11/09/05 — Voters choose members for five sanitary boards

View Archive

Voters choose members for five sanitary boards

By Kenneth Fine
Published in News on November 9, 2005 1:46 PM

Voters selected representatives to five sanitary water and sewer districts in Wayne County on Tuesday.

Only three of the district races were contested.

In the Southeastern Wayne Sanitary District, where six candidates filed, Sam Casey, James Taylor, Edith Smith, Charlie Holloway and Albert Williams won seats on the board. Casey received 20 percent of the 214 votes cast, the highest total in the race.

The Fork Township Sanitary Board election also was contested as four candidates competed for three seats. Dexter Taylor received 99 votes, 30 percent of the turnout. Donald Neal and Henry Braswell were also elected.

Four people competed for two seats on the Southern Wayne Sanitary Board. Sally Rawls Bowles received 83 votes, 31 percent of the total cast. Dale Gainey claimed the other seat with 30 percent.

The Eastern Wayne and Belfast-Patetown district elections were not contested.

Ben Casey, Ray Sullivan, Landis Davis, Edwin Beamon and Fred Newcomb earned seats on the Belfast-Patetown board. Casey led the balloting with 177 votes, or 23 percent of the total.

In the Eastern Wayne Sanitary District race, Carl Monzingo was the top vote-getter with 51, or 21 percent of the total. Daryl Anderson, Jerry Bean, Ernie Schmid and Kivett Ivey also earned seats on the board.