02/14/06 — First filings in for primary

View Archive

First filings in for primary

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on February 14, 2006 2:00 PM

The filing period opened in Wayne and Duplin counties Monday with a flurry of activity as candidates for a number of offices put their names into contention.

Three candidates filed for Wayne County Clerk of Court: Democrats Pam Minshew and Jo Ann Summerlin and Republican Amy Carter Scott. Incumbent clerk Marshall Minchew has said he does not plan to seek re-election.

Democrat Ronnie Griffin filed for the District 11 seat in the state House of Representatives. The seat is currently held by Republican Louis Pate.

And Lehman Smith, who currently holds the District 1 seat on the Wayne County Board of Education, filed for re-election.

In Duplin County, Sheriff Blake Wallace filed for re-election, as did incumbent Clerk of Court Katie Harrell. Both are Democrats.

State Rep. Russell Tucker, a Democrat, filed for re-election to his District 4 seat.

In the race for Duplin County commissioner, incumbents Arliss Albertson and Larry Howard filed for re-election. Albertson represents District 3 and Howard, District 2.

Chuck Farrior filed to run for the District 4 seat on the Duplin Board of Election.

The filing period ends at noon on Feb. 28.

Wayne County residents can file for any of these offices: The District 1 and District 3 seats in Congress; associate justice of the state Supreme Court, Court of Appeals judge, the District 5 and 12 seats in the state Senate, the District 10, District 11 and District 21 seats in the state House of Representatives, district attorney, District Court judge, Superior Court judge, clerk of court, sheriff and the District 1, 4, 5 and 6 seats on the Wayne County Board of Education.

For any questions on filing or filing fees, people may call the Wayne County Board of Elections office at 731-1411. The office is located at 209 S. William St. in Goldsboro.

In Duplin County, residents can file for the districts 2, 3 and 4 on the county Board of Elections, the districts 2 and 3 seats on the county Board of Commissioners, sheriff, clerk of court, District Court judge, the District 10 seat in the state Senate, the District 4 seat in the state House, and the districts 3 and 7 seats in Congress. For information about filing, call the Duplin County Board of Elections at 910-296-2170. The office is on Mallard Street in Kenansville.