02/16/06 — More candidates file for chance at offices

View Archive

More candidates file for chance at offices

By Andrew Bell
Published in News on February 16, 2006 2:03 PM

The list of candidates filing for a chance to run for office in 2006 continued to grow Wednesday, with hopefuls filing for national, state and local positions.

Democrat G.K. Butterfield filed for re-election for his District 1 United States Congressional seat. In District 3, Republican Walter Jones also filed for re-election for another term in Congress.

Later this year, local citizens can vote for a state senator in Districts 5 and 12. Republican Fred Smith filed for re-election to District 12, while District 5 incumbent Sen. John Kerr filed earlier this week.

In the state House, the Districts 10, 11 and 21 seats will be up for election later this year. In District 10, Democrat Van Braxton filed to run against incumbent Stephen Laroque, a Republican. Also, Democrat Larry Bell filed for re-election for his District 21 House seat.

No new filings were made in Wayne County on Wednesday. The county offices up for grabs this year are district attorney, Superior Court judge, District Court judge, clerk of court, sheriff and the Districts 1, 4, 5 and 6 seats on the Wayne County Board of Education.

In the race for associate justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, the six people who have filed include Eric Levinson, Patricia Timmons-Goodman, Ann Marie Calabria, Jill Cheek, Gus Gray and Robin Hudson. Each has filed on a non-partisan ticket.

For the Court of Appeals judgeship, four candidates had filed as of 5 p.m. Wednesday. They are Kris Bailey, Bob Hunter, Linda Stephens and Donna Stroud.

In Duplin County, two new filings were recorded Wednesday. Democrat Charles Albertson has filed for re-election for his N.C. Senate seat in District 10. Also, Democrat Johnni Blackwell filed for re-election. She currently serves on the Duplin County School Board, representing District 2.

For any information on candidate filing, filing fees or the 2006 elections, call the Wayne County Board of Elections at 731-1411. Residents interested in filing for an office can do so at the board's office located at 209 S. William St.