02/28/06 — Thomas files for run for seat on county school board

View Archive

Thomas files for run for seat on county school board

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on February 28, 2006 1:52 PM

Former coach Dave Thomas, who retired as director of health, physical education and safety for the Wayne County school system, filed for the District 1 seat on the county Board of Education Monday.

The seat is held by incumbent Lehman Smith, who has filed for re-election. The school board race is non-partisan.

The filing period ended today at noon. The News-Argus went to press before the filing period ended.

A complete list of candidates will be published in Wednesday's edition.

Thomas was the only candidate to file Monday in Wayne County. But in Duplin County, two people filed to run against incumbent legislators.

Adrain Arnett of Pink Hill, a Republican, filed for the District 10 seat in the state Senate held by Sen. Charlie Albertson. Albertson is a Democrat. And Richard Kaiser of Faison, also a Republican, filed for the District 4 seat in the state House of Representatives held by Rep. Russell Tucker.

Albertson and Tucker have filed for re-election.

Also in Duplin, Rebecca Judge of Beulaville filed for the District 3 seat on the Duplin Board of Commissioners. She is a Democrat. Arliss Albertson, also a Democrat, has filed for re-election.

The primaries will be May 2. A second primary, if needed, would be May 30. The general election will be Nov. 7.

Voter registration for the primary ends April 7. One-stop early voting for the primaries starts April 13 and ends April 29.

Public offices up for election in Wayne County this year are district attorney, District Court judge, clerk of court, sheriff, school board seats Nos. 1, 4, 5 and 6, state House district seats 10, 11, 21, state Senate district seats 5 and 12, state Court of Appeals, state Supreme Court associate justice and congressional seats Nos. 1 and 3.

Earlier stories had indicated a Superior Court judgeship was up for election but the report was inaccurate and the seat was mistakenly posted.

In Duplin County, the public offices up for election are two District Court judge seats, district attorney, sheriff, clerk of court, county commissioner district seats Nos. 2 and 3, school board district seats Nos. 2, 3 and 4, state House District 4, state Senate District 10 and congressional district seats 3 and 7.