04/09/06 — New honor society formed at WCC

View Archive

New honor society formed at WCC

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on April 9, 2006 2:00 AM

A new education honor society at Wayne Community College is said to be just one of three chapters in the world formed at a community college.

The Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education chapter at the college received its charter when Dr. William B. Martin, former ECU education professor and KDP chapter counselor, spoke to the group recently. He presented the official honor for the Alpha Gamma Mu chapter to WCC President Edward Wilson.

The 30 charter inductees in the new Kappa Delta Pi chapter include JudyAnn Alexander, Rosanne Brooks, Terri Carraway, Kim Cavenaugh, Kimberley Casey, Debra Curl, Sonja Debois, Julie Fail, Christie Faircloth, Ken Guy, Stephanie Herring, Sara Hiatt, Sue Hill, Deborah Hines, Debbie Howell, Elaine Jacobs, Christie Jones, Danielle Lane, Marsah Lane, Ashley Ledford, Thomasina Lee, Elizabeth Mooring, Verlie Pittman, Lindsey Price, Amber Pryse, Brittany Rogers, April Rose, Danny Warren, Heather Wilson and Rebecca Wychunas.

All of these students are enrolled in education programs at Wayne Community College or in the ECU Wachovia Partnership East South Central Consortium housed at WCC.

Kappa Delta Pi, founded in 1911, elects to membership those who exhibit the ideals of scholarship, high personal standards, and promise in teaching and allied professions. To be inducted, students must maintain a 3.0 grade point average, have 50 credit hours and either be enrolled in the Partnership East program as a four-year student, or state their intention to go to a four-year school to major in education.

Daniel Rollins, WCC language and communications department chair, serves as chapter counselor. Eleanor Armstrong and Sherri Granberry, both WCC early childhood instructors, and Debbie Grady, Partnership East hub site coordinator, are associate counselors.