05/09/06 — Two students from Goldsboro honored at MOC graduation

View Archive

Two students from Goldsboro honored at MOC graduation

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on May 9, 2006 1:49 PM

MOUNT OLIVE -- Two Goldsboro residents were among those students honored at the Mount Olive College's 52nd commencement exercises Saturday.

Daniel Finkenstadt received the Lora W. and Maurice H. King award, presented to a student who completed a non-traditional program at one of the college's six locations or who graduated with a baccalaureate degree. The Dr. Thomas R. Morris Award for Academic Excellence went to Lindsey Snyder, a magna cum laude graduate with a bachelor of science degree in business administration, with a dual major in management and human resources management.

Finkenstadt graduated with a bachelor of applied science degree in business management from the Goldsboro location. An active duty staff sergeant with the 4th Contracting Squadron, he was an honors student. His wife Amy is also a student at the college.

Ms. Snyder's $3,000 cash award is presently annually to the baccalaureate graduate who best exemplifies serious academic pursuit and love and breadth of learning.

Among her accomplishments while at MOC, she holds every record for the Trojan tennis team and was an honor student. She was the first female named all-conference while a member of the women's golf team. She was also named CVAC Conference Player of the Year for all four of her college years, has been a finalist for the Murphy Osborne Award and a two-time winner of the MOC Female Student Athlete of the Year.

Ms. Snyder, the daughter of Kathy and Jack Snyder, is a graduate of Eastern Wayne High School.

Two other awards were announced during the graduation ceremonies.

Weston Curles of Hertford received the 2006 Martin Award, given to the graduate with the highest academic average. It is presented in honor of Lorelle F. Martin, professor emeritus, who taught at the college from 1957-1987.

Dr. Jake Brown received the Dr. Thomas R. Morris Award for Excellence in Teaching. The professor of science biology education joined the college as a full-time faculty member in 1998.