06/19/06 — Schools choose teacher honorees

View Archive

Schools choose teacher honorees

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 19, 2006 1:49 PM

Wayne County Public Schools has announced its individual Teachers of the Year for 2006-07, representing each of the 31 schools.

In the coming months, the field will be narrowed down to three finalists, representing the elementary, middle, and high school categories. On Aug. 17, the county's Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual banquet.

The honor not only recognizes exemplary educators, but rewards them with participation in a travel program designed to enhance their role in the classroom.

Colleagues in each school nominate a candidate to compete for the award. Judges then select a Twiford Travel Award winner from the elementary, middle and high school levels. Those three will receive up to $5,000 as a stipend to travel outside the U.S. and experience a broader global perspective, officials said.

The Goldsboro Rotary Club established the Twiford Worldview Travel Award in memory of C. W. Twiford, a former principal of Goldsboro High School. Individuals and businesses contribute to fund the grants.

"We are fortunate to have a program of such caliber in Wayne County Public Schools. The opportunities the travel experience opens to our teachers is invaluable to their personal and professional development," said Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent of schools.

The county winner will go on to compete at the regional level and receive an additional $1,500 in Twiford Award funds.

The Teachers of the Year for each school are:

Belfast Academy: Wendy Bennett

Brogden Middle School: Lynette Wilson

Brogden Primary School: Mary Franklin

Carver Elementary School: Melissa O'Neal

Carver Heights Elementary School: Katena E. Cherry

Charles B. Aycock High School: Tamra W. Renfrow

Dillard Middle School: Tondalayo Davila

Eastern Wayne Elementary School: Jerri R. Daniels

Eastern Wayne High School: Barbara S. Stroud

Eastern Wayne Middle School: Donald Rouse

Edgewood Community Development School: Cynthia R. Sprouse

Fremont STARS Elementary School: Michelle Hamm

Goldsboro High School: Joy Yelverton

Goldsboro Middle School: Beverly A. Kee

Grantham: Amy Kelly

Greenwood Middle School: Connie Whaley

Meadow Lane Elementary School: Jennifer Heim

Mount Olive Middle School: Wilma Foote

North Drive Elementary School: Shauna Lucas-Skinner

Northeast Elementary School: Sharon M. Carmon

Northwest Elementary: Sharon Caughron

Norwayne Middle School: Ronda Elmore

Rosewood Elementary School: Tracy McKeel

Rosewood High School: Linda Franks

Rosewood Middle School: Dina DeLisi

School Street Elementary School: Amy Crain

Southern Academy: Julie Potts

Southern Wayne High School: Lynn W. Dail

Spring Creek Elementary School: Linda Hughes

Spring Creek High School: Susan Alphin

Tommy's Road Elementary School: Caroline R. Brown