10/17/07 — On to November 6: Official results are in for primary vote

View Archive

On to November 6: Official results are in for primary vote

By Anessa Myers
Published in News on October 17, 2007 2:11 PM

The results are in, officially.

Al King and D.A. Stuart will be on the ballot for November's mayoral race, and Donnie Chatman and Jerry Broadhurst will battle it out for the District 3 City Council seat.

Wayne County Board of Elections Interim Director Erin Burridge said that after canvassing the area Tuesday, the official results were only one vote off of the results reported after the elections last Tuesday.

"There was one provisional vote for Al King," she said. "That was it."

Provisional votes come from registered voters who place their vote in a location that might not be their correct precinct, Ms. Burridge explained. When they vote, the election officials can't locate them in the poll books, but they let them vote anyway -- at the closest polling location to their address. Then, when the election officials and the poll book come back to the Board of Elections, they "do very thorough research" to find out where the vote should go, based on the voter's address.

"As an example, say someone that lived in Mount Olive went to Eureka to vote, and for some reason, they didn't want to go to Mount Olive," Ms. Burridge said. "They try to get that person the correct ballot, but it's hard when the ballots in municipal elections are completely different. So then we determine if the voter was eligible for anything they voted for, based on their address, and if they were, we count their vote."

With 1,080 voters casting their vote for mayor in the primary election, 903 votes went to King, and Stuart received 128, with the remaining credited to challenger G.L. Minchew.

And as for the city's third district, nothing changed.

Chatman received 57 percent of the votes with 68, and Broadhurst received 34 votes.

Ms. Burridge did not expect any names to change on the ballots after last Tuesday, but she did expect to be delayed with printing one-stop voting ballots.

As of now though, they are right on time.

One-stop voting will begin Thursday and end at 1 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 3.

"We'll be ready," she said.

She added that the primary was good preparation for the upcoming election in November, and she said she believes county election officials are more than ready.

"Everything went great," she said. "So far so good. We are looking forward to the next one."

The last day for absentee ballots to be requested for November's election is Oct. 30.

Tuesday, Nov. 6, is Election Day, and voting will be held that day from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

On the ballots will be candidates for four sanitary districts and every town in Wayne County -- except Eureka.

No one filed in Eureka, and the three commission seats will be filled with write-in candidates.

Ballots elsewhere around the county will feature the following candidates:



*Alfonzo "Al" King (incumbent)

*D.A. Stuart

City Council

*Frankie Anna Lewis, District 1

*Michael L. Headen, District 1

*Bob Waller (incumbent), District 2

*L.J. Stanley, District 2

*Donnie R. Chatman Sr. (incumbent), District 3

*Jerry Broadhurst, District 3

*Charles James Williams Sr. (incumbent), District 4

*Chuck Allen (incumbent), District 5

*Jackie Warrick (incumbent), District 6



*I. Ray McDonald

*Jessie Jack Faison

City Council

*Ray Thompson (incumbent), At-Large

*Russell Gray, At-Large

*George Fulghum, At-Large

*Kenneth Kyle Talton (incumbent), District 1

*Ora H. Truzy, District 1

*Hosea Manley (incumbent), District 2

*Paul Smalley, District 2

*Lloyd Warren, District 3

*Jimmy Kornegay (incumbent), District 4

*Norwood Gene Lee, District 4



*Devone Jones (incumbent)

*Amy V. Price

*W. Darron Flowers


*Bill Harvey (incumbent), District 1

*Al Lewis, District 1

*Leon Mooring (incumbent), District 2

*W.T. Smith (incumbent), District 3

*Harold Cuddington (incumbent), District 4

*Leroy Ruffin (incumbent), District 5

*Annie R. Lewis (incumbent), District 6


City Council -- three seats

*Bruce Thomas (incumbent)

*Albert Greene (incumbent)

*Todd S. Anderson

*Talmage "Thigie" Thigpen

*Vance Greeson

*Dennis K. Lewis



*Stephen Potter (incumbent)

*Karen Mozingo

City Council -- three seats

*Bobby Mozingo (incumbent)

*Danny Carter (incumbent)

*Alan Cash


City Council -- three seats

*Thomas Hill Shaw (incumbent)

*Danny Jackson (incumbent)

*Greg Ricker

*Jeffrey Wharton

*Dave Colburn


Fork Township -- two seats

*Andy G. Hartley (incumbent)

*David B. Jackson (incumbent)

Northwestern Wayne -- five seats

*Walter F. Bridgers (incumbent)

*William "Bill" Lynch Jr. (incumbent)

*David W. Pittman (incumbent)

*Kenneth A. Tucker (incumbent)

*James S. Kirby (incumbent)

*Wayne Aycock Jr.

Southern Wayne -- three seats

*William "Bill" Harrell (incumbent)

*Scott T. Ingram

Southwestern Wayne -- five seats

*David A. Bennett (incumbent)

*Alan R. Lumpkin (incumbent)

*Jean L. Hood (incumbent)

*Ruby Gail Minchew