11/25/07 — Standout Wayne students honored

View Archive

Standout Wayne students honored

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on November 25, 2007 2:00 AM

Kevin Cobb, a senior at Spring Creek High School, shows promise.

A member of the math club, Spanish club, choir and chorus, he's also made it into the National Honor Society and National Art Honor Society.

But he's a standout, says his assistant principal, Cynthia Reynolds, because of who he is rather than for his school resume.

"He has been that hard worker, dedicated to what he's doing, putting forth the efforts," she said. "He's one of those you can call on and count on."

Last Monday nighthe was among 33 recipients of the Promise Award, given to one student from each of the public schools, by PAPA -- Principals and Assistant Principals Association.

The idea was introduced by Dexter Evans, principal of Southern Academy, as a way to recognize students who demonstrate good behavior and work diligently.

"With all the negative talk about education and school, both here and abroad, we continue to ask the question, 'What's right about education?' We're begging to answer that," said Evans, who served as emcee for the event.

"This award is for students exhibiting potential for success -- students of good character, good morals ... good rapport with both students and staff members. They go to school every day and complete a hard day's work."

Celia James, principal of Meadow Lane Elementary and the school system's current Principal of the Year, said that the word "Promise" was chosen because its letters exemplified the qualities PAPA was looking for -- potential, resilience, optimism, model citizen, integrity, sensible and enterprising.

The banquet room at Dillard Alumni Center was packed with educators and families there to support the students.

"I see a lot of people, many people, that are here to encourage young people," said Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent of schools. "We want all of our kids to make something of themselves."

The challenge he shared was an easy one, he said.

"Just continue doing what you're doing now, because I can tell you as recipients of this award, you already do and have these habits -- study, do the right things, be good citizens. You're an example to follow."

Encouragement from home as well as school is vital, he added.

"We're going to do our job every single day to get the most out of the youth that we have to deal with and that you have entrusted us with every single day," he said. "We can't recycle children. We have to get it right the first time. ... As educators, if we do that, our children will have a lot of promise beyond what we see today."

Shirley Sims, chairwoman of the Board of Education, also applauded the concept of accentuating the positive.

"We have so many children that really need this opportunity to be recognized for special efforts that they put forth every day," she said. "This is a wonderful idea. It's just wonderful that you're doing this and I hope that you will continue it."

Evans said the plan is to make the Promise Awards an annual event.

Individual school recipients include the following:

Ashley Davis, Belfast Academy; Sakiya Darden, Brogden Middle; Christine Chase, Brogden Primary; Derik Tyler Allen, Carver Elementary; Joseph Vaughn, Carver Heights Elementary; Stephanie Rains, Charles B. Aycock; Jasmine Jones, Dillard Middle; Danielle Cross, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Kiyona Sutton, Eastern Wayne High; Wesley Stewart, Eastern Wayne Middle; Molly Jackson, Edgewood; Bryant Ballance, Fremont STARS; Terrisha Lewis, Goldsboro High; Ashley Lewis, Goldsboro Intermediate; Dakota Toms, Grantham School; Tykwan Days, Greenwood Middle; Anthony King, Meadow Lane Elementary; Breyon Johnson, Mount Olive Middle; Naheria Hamilton, North Drive Elementary; Megan Parrish, Northeast Elementary; Tiffany Larsen, Northwest Elementary; Bryant Stafford, Norwayne Middle; Megan Peele, Rosewood Elementary; Caroline Keen, Rosewood High; Kiania Henriques, Rosewood Middle; Dynasti Faircloth, School Street Elementary; Thomas Edwards, Southern Academy; Michelle Williams, Southern Wayne High; Katlyn Hinnant, Spring Creek Elementary; Kevin Cobb, Spring Creek High; Derajay Speede-Williams, Tommy's Road Elementary; Terrence Davis, Wayne Early/Middle College; and Kevin Yang, Wayne School of Engineering.