01/20/08 — United Church Ministries honors volunteers for 2007 efforts

View Archive

United Church Ministries honors volunteers for 2007 efforts

By News-Argus Staff
Published in News on January 20, 2008 12:30 PM

The annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet was held recently at Salem United Methodist Church, hosted by the Men of Salem and the Salem United Methodist Women.

Entertaiment was provided by singers Jesse and Pat Kissinger.

During a brief business session, Terry Johnson, chairman of the Walk for Hunger, reported that the 2008 walk for Hunger, the organization's only fundraising event, will be held Sunday, April 6, with a rain date of April 13.

The new slate of officers is Franklin Lane, chairman; Patricia Stokes, vice chairperson; and Elaine Lamm, secretary-treasurer.

Elaine Lamm gve the financial report for 2007. Receipts were $64,212.18; disbursements amounted to $52,405.08. Member churches gave $34,486.34. The remainder of the receipts came from grants, individual donations, and businesses. .

Francis Vernosky, director of the Ccenter, reported that 1,143 persons received aid with rent, utiliies, medical needs, heating fuel, and food during 2007. There were 531 people who received food.

Trophies for the Walk for hunger for 2007 went to Stony Creek Free Will Baptist, which received the honor of raising the most money -- $2,981.43. Hood Swamp Friends raised the most money per member, $14.50. Ginny Simpson from Salem United Methodist Church raised the most money for an individual, $1,117.

Douglas Johnson Jr., of Jefferson United Methodist Church, ran the course in three and a half minutes. Jeanne Speight of Stony Creek Free Will Baptist Church was the first walker to complete the course. It took her 57 minutes.

Certificates were presented to these volunteers: Elaine Lamm, Gloria Best, Brenda Thompson, Bessie Scott, Darla Anderson, Nan Montague, Arnette Cogdell, Ann Rowe, Jean Carson, Hugh Tate, Martin Casey, Ruby Smith, KoKo Durham, Franklin Lane and the Youth Group from First Presbyterian. Brian Mitchell from Pikeville Pentecostal Free Will Baptist Church also received a certificate. A total of 1,401.5 volunteer hours were donated by volunteers, plus the youth group's hours.

Plaques were given to the following for the most volunteer hours at the Center: Gloria Best of Greenleaf Christian for 150 hours, Brenda Thompson of Greenleaf Christian for 135 and a half hours, Bessie Scott of Greenleaf Christian for 133 hours.

The Volunteer of the Year Award was given to Angela and Terry Johnson. Elaine Lamm, in presenting the award, said that the two had co-chaired the walk since 1999, plus hauling food for the center when necessary and other tasks as they occured.

A special recogition was presented to Ray Boyette, retiring chairman of the board. In presenting the award, Elaine Hamm read the statement from the plaque that exemplifies Ray's philosophy. At the end of each meeting, he would say "I love you and you can't help it." Engaved on the plaque was, "Thanks. We love you and you can't help it."

In Boyette's closing remaks, he read scripture support ing the work that the organization does -- to help in emergency situations with food, rent, utilities, medical needs, heating fuel and other items that are needed. He expressed his thanks to e veryone for his four years as chairman.