04/23/08 — Thirteen students named North Carolina Teaching Fellows

View Archive

Thirteen students named North Carolina Teaching Fellows

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on April 23, 2008 1:55 PM

Thirteen area high school seniors have been named recipients of the 2008 North Carolina Teaching Fellows scholarships.

The scholarship program is considered one of the top teacher recruiting programs in the nation, created by the General Assembly in 1986. Each Teaching Fellow receives a $26,000 scholarship loan from the state, payable in $6,500 annual increments.

The full loan is forgiven upon completion of four years of teaching in a public school in the state.

This year, 2,156 high school seniors from across the state competed for the 528 scholarships. There are currently 3,370 Teaching Fellows employed in 97 of the state's 100 counties.

Local recipients are listed by their schools:

Charles B. Aycock High: Nathaniel Kyle Conte, Matthew Trent Crumpler, James Andrew Howard, Edmond Kelly Miller, Madison Christine Pinkowski and Kenan Lewis Stewart

Eastern Wayne High: William Jordan Hughes

Rosewood High: Christian Jacob Albee

Southern Wayne High: Marshall Neal Jones and Shana Demetria Wynn

Spring Creek High: Dion Jerron Beary, Brian Eric Heim and Jeremy Alan Sanders.

Four alternates were also selected: Katherine Elizabeth Brantley and Casie Winslow Musgrave of Eastern Wayne; Heather Danielle Edwards of Southern Wayne; and Jamison Hall Mossberg of Spring Creek.

"We are proud of these students for earning this prestigious fellowship," said Dr. Steven Taylor, WCPS superintendent.

"By becoming a Teaching Fellow, these students have shown that they exemplify the qualities necessary to become excellent educators. We look forward to finding a classroom for these future teachers here in Wayne County after they graduate from college."