10/26/08 — Duplin Hall of Fame banquet tickets on sale, information online

View Archive

Duplin Hall of Fame banquet tickets on sale, information online

By Staff Reports
Published in News on October 26, 2008 2:00 AM

KENANSVILLE -- Information about the 13th annual Duplin County Hall of Fame Awards Banquet is now online at the Duplin County Web site at www.duplincountync.com.

The banquet will be held Thursday, Nov. 6 at 6:30 p.m. in the Jester's Court at the Country Squire.

Each year the Duplin County Hall of Fame honors the lifelong contributions of two people who have a connection with Duplin County -- one living and one deceased -- and inducts them into the prestigious Hall of Fame at its annual banquet. The board keeps each year's inductees' names secret until the night of the banquet.

"We now have information on the Hall of Fame in several places on the website, including the Community Calendar and in the civic organizations list under the 'Quality of Life,' tab," Aldridge said, adding that they plan to include more about the hall of fame in the future.

Tickets for this year's banquet are now on sale for $27.50 and may be purchased in advance from any board member. Tickets may not be purchased at the door or online.

Last year's Hall of Fame Award for a living recipient went to former NASA astronaut William Edgar Thornton, M.D., and the 2007 Hall of Fame Award for a deceased recipient went to Revolutionary War hero General James Kenan.

To purchase tickets, people should contact the Duplin County Hall of Fame board member in their area.

Board members are Kristine M. Bryant (secretary), Island Creek; Alice P. Carlton, Limestone; Inga C. Flake, Faison; Anne B. Houston (president), Kenansville; Marilynn K. Hroza, Glisson; Kenneth D. Kennedy, Cypress Creek; Anna Rae Murray, Rose Hill; Sharon H. Patterson (vice president), Albertson; Sandra Pope-Rollins, Warsaw; Rodney M. Scott (historian), Smith; Brenda B. Sheffield, Magnolia; Linda G. Smith, Wolfscrape; Johnny H. Williams (treasurer), Rockfish; and Anne S. Taylor (executive director), Faison.