11/24/08 — Torhunta Boy Scouts Council annual awards

View Archive

Torhunta Boy Scouts Council annual awards

By Staff Reports
Published in News on November 24, 2008 1:53 PM

The Tuscarora Boy Scouts Council's Torhunta District, which is made up of Scout units in Wayne County, recently gave awards to volunteers and local Scout units during the district's annual banquet held at the First Presbyterian Church.

Recipients of District Award of Merit were Doris Offield of Troop 8 and Crew 8, and Steve Moore, a Tuscarora board member and leader of Troop 258.

District Vice Chairman Jeremiah Daniels said the District Award of Merit is the highest award presented at the district level and honors Scouting commitment during the past seven to 10 years. He said the award is restricted to one recipient every 25 Scouting units.

Mrs. Offield is a charter organization representative for New Hope United Methodist Church and an active member of the troop, pack and crew. She helps plan and attends nearly every Eagle ceremony at New Hope. She is a member of the Order of the Arrow and regularly attends chapter meetings and lodge functions. She is a past member of the council training team and has volunteered to work with three of the last four jamborees.

"Even in sickness and through surgery, she continued to work with the scouts," Daniels said.

Moore is a current scoutmaster, Eagle Scout and member of the Order of the Arrow. He serves on the Tuscarora Council board and has served as assistant district commissioner and as district membership chairman. He has been instrumental in forming a committee charged with starting and maintaining inner-city Scouting units. He has been a part of the Red Cross Heroes Campaign. He has supported and underwritten the cost of Project Clean Sweep. And for the past 11 years, he has been involved with Wayne County Public Schools Partners in Education.

"Anything the Tuscarora Council has ever asked of Moore, he has given 110 percent towards making it happen," Daniels said.

The Fellowship Award winners were District Vice Chairman Daniels, Deborah Whaley of Troop 10 and Pack 10, and Dewey Offield of Troop 8 and Venture Crew 8.

The Fellowship Award recognizes continued outstanding service to Scouting over the past three to five years.

Torhunta District Executive Mark Metzler said Mrs. Whaley has been involved in Scouting for more than nine years. During this time she has served as den leader and committee chairman on the pack level.

"She is an enthusiastic scouter," Metzler said. "She advocates support for the Scouting program and continues to give time, talents and wisdom in all areas of Scouting."

Offield serves as an assistant scoutmaster for his troop and as an associate advisor for his venture crew. Since joining the Venture Crew, Offield has organized a plan for advancement in the crew as well as the troop.

"This past year the crew had its first Eagle Scout, and 10 Venture Crew youth have earned their bronze award," Metzler said. "His unselfish dedication is making a huge positive influence in the lives of youth and adults alike."

District Vice Chairman Daniels has been actively involved in the Scouting program for more than 15 years, Metzler said.

As a youth he attained the rank of Eagle, served on summer camp staff and served as Nayawin Rar lodge chief.

After college, he returned to Goldsboro and began volunteering as an assistant scoutmaster.

This past year, Daniels has served on the district level as a Friends of Scouting table host and council Camporee chief as well as the district vice chairman.

The Trailblazer Award winners were Page Lane of Cub Scout Pack 10, which meets at Providence United Methodist Church; Frank Jackson, also of Pack 10; and Jimmy Doss of Boy Scout Troop 3, which meets at the First Presbyterian Church.

This award recognizes volunteers who have demonstrated outstanding service to Scouting over the past year.

Mrs. Lane has served as Tiger den leader, Wolf den leader, Bear den leader and as a committee member for the past three years.

Jackson began volunteering in 2006 as a Tiger den leader. He has served as an instructor and a cook on the council Cub-O-Ree staff. And currently he serves as assistant cub master for Pack 10.

Doss has served as a committee member for Troop 3. He has helped with council fundraising for many years, Daniels said. This past year, he served on the district level as a friends of Scouting table host and as our district chairman.

Cub Scout packs and Boy Scout troops also won awards.

Troop 12 and Pack 10, which meet at the Fremont United Methodist Church, received the Summertime Pack Award, which goes to a pack that has planned and conducted three pack activities.

Troop 7, which meets at Daniels Memorial United Methodist Church, received the National Camping Award designed to recognize troops who go camping during the year.

And Troop 8, which meets at New Hope United Methodist Church, received the honor Troop Award.