12/05/08 — Duplin board selects leaders

View Archive

Duplin board selects leaders

By Staff Reports
Published in News on December 5, 2008 1:46 PM

KENANSVILLE -- Duplin County commissioners have elected Cary Turner of Beautancus as chairman and Reginald Wells of Rose Hill as vice chairman.

The commissioners, meeting Monday in the county administration building in Kenansville, also received a new member, Frances Parks of Calypso, who replaced retiring commissioner L.S. Guy of Faison. Clerk of Court Katie Harrell administered the oath of office to Mrs. Parks, along with re-elected board members David Fussell, Reginald Williams and Zettie Williams.

Chairman Turner is beginning his third year on the board after defeating Larry Howard in 2006

Meanwhile, the Duplin County Board of Education has re-elected its leadership, Chairwoman Emily Manning and Vice Chairman Reginald Kenan.

The board has chosen Mrs. Manning as chairwoman since the former chairman, Doc Brinson, did not seek re-election in 2004. Brinson was replaced by Willie Gillespie, and Mrs. Manning became chairwoman in Dec. 2004. She has been on the board since 1990. Kenan has been a board member since 1989.