02/16/09 — Wayne has 18 new nationally certified teachers

View Archive

Wayne has 18 new nationally certified teachers

By Staff Reports
Published in News on February 16, 2009 1:46 PM

Wayne County Public Schools' has 18 new National Board Certified educators, officials announced this week.

Certification is granted by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards and is the most accepted symbol of teaching excellence in the nation.

North Carolina ranks number one for its number of national board-certified candidates, school board member Thelma Smith said during a recognition ceremony.

The newest group brings Wayne County's number of certified teachers and counselors to 176. The numbers speak highly of the quality and dedication of educators in this county, she said.

"The men and women being recognized have worked to better themselves professionally, which undoubtedly will have a direct benefit on student achievement across the district," she said.

Earning certification is a challenging and time-consuming process. Nationally, approximately half of all applicants receive certification. Candidates must prepare portfolios with written and videotaped documentation of direct instruction. They also take a four-hour essay exam designed to demonstrate their subject knowledge and their understanding of how to teach.

Each recipient was also presented a $500 check during the board recognition.

Candidates this year include Erlene Brogden from the central office; Robert Jones, media coordinator for Spring Creek High; and classroom teachers Stacie Fail, Karen Morgan, and Vickie Tillman from Carver Elementary; Amanda Barnes and Christy Collins from Charles B. Aycock High; Darrell Coston from Dillard Middle; Terry Butler from Eastern Wayne Elementary; Michael Daughtry from Eastern Wayne High; Mary Capen from Eastern Wayne Middle; Tammy Wallace from Fremont STARS Elementary; Emily West from Meadow Lane Elementary; Gail Mason from Mount Olive Middle; Stephanie Yelverton from Northeast Elementary; Amy Howell from Rosewood High; Coletta Campbell from School Street Elementary; and Debbie Turner from Spring Creek Elementary.