04/27/09 — WCPS picks top school volunteer

View Archive

WCPS picks top school volunteer

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on April 27, 2009 1:46 PM

A Norwayne Middle School parent was recognized Thursday as the Wayne County Public School Volunteer of the Year.

Shelley Radford has been at the school for three years, but said she has been a school volunteer since her children -- 15-year-old old twins Heath and Marah, now at Wayne Early/Middle College High School, and Trent, 13, a student at Norwayne -- started kindergarten.

"I love to be out there with kids every day," she said. "I love dealing with people. The teachers -- we have got an awesome staff at Norwayne -- the principal, assistant principal. They have let me come in and be part of their team. Each and every day, they let me in their hearts, and it takes all of us together to make it."

Norwayne principal Mario Re said Mrs. Radford has given more than 500 volunteer hours during the last school year, offering assistance wherever she is needed.

"Mrs. Radford is willing to do the little things that go unnoticed in the daily routine of a day at Norwayne," he said. "She is compassionate and caring and is one of the most helpful people I know. She loves Norwayne and is willing to do whatever she can to make it the school that it is."

She is the first person staff at the school call upon when they need help, added Tammy Munoz, school counselor.

"They know the caliber of her work and the effort she puts into every task," she said. "She is truly deserving of the Volunteer of the Year award for Wayne County Public Schools."

At the Thursday afternoon reception, school officials recognized the volunteers from each of the 33 schools as well as three Partners in Education. Since 1995, the Partners in Education program has allowed businesses and organizations to support the schools by donating time, expertise, materials and funds. The district currently has about 160 participants in the program.

PIE awards are divided into three categories -- small, with up to 15 employees or members; medium, 15-50; and large, more than 50.

This year, a town, a church and a business were recipients of the honor.

The town of Fremont, nominated by Fremont STARS Elementary School, received the award in the small partner category.

Accu-Copy, nominated by Northeast Elementary School, was selected in the medium partner category.

And Garris Chapel United Methodist Church, nominated by Spring Creek Elementary, was recognized in the large partner category.

"We appreciate our school volunteers and our Partners in Education who contribute countless hours and resources to help enhance the quality of education for our students," said Dr. Steven Taylor, school superintendent. "With literally hundreds of volunteers and educational partners across the district, it is always exciting for our schools to recognize those who go above and beyond."

The list of individual Volunteers of the Year for 2008-09 include: Leatrice Woodard, Belfast Academy; Cara Evans, Brogden Middle; Anna Hogan, Brogden Primary; Amy Grady, Carver Elementary; Matthew McNair, Carver Heights Elementary; Thomas Vail, Charles B. Aycock High; Lena Chadwick, Dillard Middle; Glenda Faye Carraway, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Bobby Adams, Eastern Wayne High; Vicki Rice, Eastern Wayne Middle; Lynette Smith, Edgewood Community Developmental School; Marcia Mooring, Fremont STARS Elementary; Sonita Brown, Goldsboro High; Thomasina Bunch, Goldsboro Intermediate; Evelyn Small, Grantham School; Linda Burney-Vance, Greenwood Middle; Norma McLain, Meadow Lane Elementary; Towanda Hagans, Mount Olive Middle; Leonard Compton, North Drive Elementary; Leigh Goroski, Northeast Elementary; Pam Thigpen, Northwest Elementary; Michelle Weeks, Rosewood Elemen-tary; Stuart Kornegay, Rosewood High; Sandra Hayner, Rosewood Middle; Linda Hutchusen, School Street Elementary; Katie Vann, Southern Academy; Lynn Williams, Southern Wayne High; Andrea Gray, Spring Creek Elementary; Sharon Cosmas, Spring Creek High; Tracy Price, Tommy's Road Elementary; Bliss Von Haven, Wayne Early Middle College High; and Clifton Thomas, Wayne School of Engineering.