05/22/09 — Career and technical students recognized

View Archive

Career and technical students recognized

By Staff Reports
Published in News on May 22, 2009 1:46 PM

Wayne County Public Schools recently recognized outstanding students and teachers from its career and technical education programs who have earned honors in state and national competitions this year.

The district's Career and Technical Education Department promotes several national and international organizations through its local school chapters, including Technology Students Association, Future Business Leaders Association, Family, Career and Community Leaders America, Health Occupations Students of America, Future Farmers of America, SkillsUSA and DECA.

The CTE Department also named its 2008-09 Teachers of the Year. CTE High School Teacher of the Year is Allison Jennings, an agriculture teacher at Rosewood High School. CTE Middle School Teacher of the Year is Paul Casey, a career and technical education teacher at Grantham School.

"This school year, our district had hundreds of students participate in local CTE chapters," said Denny Tart, CTE Director. "Through hard work and preparation, our CTE students have earned countless awards and titles at regional, state, national, and international competitions. We are very proud of what CTE staff and students have accomplished throughout this school year."

Students recognized from each school include:

Charles B. Aycock High School

DECA: Tammy Vail, advisor; Jacob Dewitt, first place state, first place international

Eastern Wayne High

TSA: Barbara Sykes, advisor; Michael McKnight, first place national (2); Raya Taylor, first place national; Andy Wagner, top ten national

Norwayne Middle

TSA: John Vause and Sharon Nethercutt, advisors; Karly Derwitz, first place national; Keli Gerken, Bradley Glover, Amanda Howell and Rebecca Pate, top ten national; Cierra Harris, first place state; Rachel Jackson, first place state and top ten national, two each; Sydney Langley, first place state; Cady Sheeks, first place state and first place national; Ricky Tharrington, first place state (2); Myra Waheed, first place state and top ten national, two each; Lee West and Jackson Yelverton, first place state; and NCTSA Chapter of the Year

Rosewood High

FBLA: Cathy Best, advisor; Kelly Best, first place state

Spring Creek High

FFA: Chris Stewart and Andrea Sanderson, advisors; Hunter Barnett, Mason Marriner, Zachary Price and Brian Stewart, first place state; and Rexford Price, first place state and first place national.