06/07/09 — Wayne County Schools name 33 individual Teachers of the Year

View Archive

Wayne County Schools name 33 individual Teachers of the Year

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 7, 2009 2:00 AM

Individual Teachers of the Year have been announced by Wayne County Public Schools.

The 33 teachers for 2009-10 will compete for the district-wide honor, which will be announced in late summer.

Educators chosen from each school will complete portfolios that will be submitted to the Teacher of the Year selection committee. The next round of competition will also entail interviews, followed by the field being narrowed down to three finalists, one each from the elementary, middle and high school levels.

The WCPS Teacher of the Year will be selected from the finalists and announced on Aug. 27.

"Teachers of the Year represent the best of the teaching profession, and are selected because of their dedication, professionalism and commitment to education," said Dr. Steven Taylor, WCPS Superintendent. "By being selected as their school's Teacher of the Year, these 33 teachers have shown that they are well respected by their students, peers and administrators."

Teachers of the Year for each school are:

Belfast Academy: Alesia Wooten

Brogden Middle: Lynette Wilson

Brogden Primary: Heather Puckett

Carver Elementary: Kim Weaver

Carver Heights Elementary: Kevin Alston

Charles B. Aycock High: Shelly Pinkowski

Dillard Middle: Eskabonna Henderson

Eastern Wayne Elementary: Pamela Crutchfield

Eastern Wayne High: Susan McKnight

Eastern Wayne Middle: Michelle Quinn

Edgewood Community Developmental School: Lori Thomas

Fremont STARS Elementary: Tammy Wallace

Goldsboro High: Lee Patrick

Goldsboro Intermediate: Charity Wagner

Grantham School: Amber Craig

Greenwood Middle: Kimberly Jordan

Meadow Lane Elementary: Emily West

Mount Olive Middle: Melanie Bradshaw

North Drive Elementary: Gregory Brown

Northeast Elementary: Beverly Smith

Northwest Elementary: Alison Syverson

Norwayne Middle: Sonja Collins

Rosewood Elementary: Melissa Wise

Rosewood High: Allison Jennings

Rosewood Middle: Sandra Tart

School Street Elementary: Coletta Campbell

Southern Academy: Marketa Hargrove

Southern Wayne High: Bill Joyner

Spring Creek Elementary: Kimberly Lafave

Spring Creek High: Beverly Boltinhouse

Tommy's Road Elementary: Kelly Kokiko

Wayne Early/Middle College High: Selena Smith

Wayne School of Engineering: Susan Randolph.