11/11/09 — Booth is new Eureka mayor

View Archive

Booth is new Eureka mayor

By Laura Collins
Published in News on November 11, 2009 1:46 PM

Commissioner Doug Booth was elected as the new mayor for the town of Eureka.

Commissioner Billy Martin was re-elected as commissioner and Leroy Wellington was also elected commissioner.

The Wayne County Board of Election counted the write-in votes Tuesday at part of the official canvass.

On the ballot for Eureka, there were no candidates running for the open mayor's seat and the two open commissioner seats.

Booth, whose commissioner term did not end until 2011, received 14 votes for mayor. Current mayor Stephen Howell received four votes for mayor, the next highest amount.

Martin received 18 votes to reelect him as commissioner and Wellington received the next highest number with six votes. Miscellaneous votes for commissioner totaled 11.

Within the next five to 10 days the Board of Elections will mail a certificate of election to the winners. From there, the winners must decide if they accept the position.

Wayne County Board of Election director Reed said Eureka wasn't the only town in North Carolina with no candidates on the ballot. Eureka only 156 registered for municipal elections.

Booth and Wellington did not return calls for comment by press time.