02/25/10 — May primary election filing deadline is Friday

View Archive

May primary election filing deadline is Friday

By Staff Reports
Published in News on February 25, 2010 1:46 PM

The deadline for filing for the May primary is noon Friday.

Incumbents in the district and state partisan seats who are up for re-election include: District Attorney Branny Vickory; Sheriff Carey Winders; Clerk of Superior Court Pam Minshew; District Court Judge Elizabeth Heath; state Sen. Don Davis, District 5; Sen. David Rouzer, District 12; state Rep. Van Braxton, District 10; Rep. Efton Sager, District 11; and Rep. Larry Bell, District 21.

Incumbents who are up for re-election in the nonpartisan races Board of Education members are Dave Thomas, Districts 1 -- who has said he will not run again -- John Grantham, District 4; George Moye, District 5; and Rick Pridgen, District 6. Other nonpartisan incumbents up for re-election are District Court Judge Beth Heath and Soil and Water Board members Ronald Parks and Bryant Worley.

Additionally, U.S. Senator Richard Burr, Third District Congressman Walter Jones and First District Congress G.K. Butterfield are up for re-election.

Candidate filing can be done at the county Board of Elections building, 209 S. William St. Information about filing, as well as voter registration information is available at the board's Web site, available off of www.waynegov.com.

Voters registered as Democrat will be issued a Democrat ballot, Republicans will be issued a Republican ballot, and unaffiliated voters will be issued a Democrat, Republican or a non-partisan ballot, based on their preference.

Non-partisan ballots will contain only the candidates running for non-partisan offices and any referenda that may be on the ballot.