04/23/10 — Retiree earns district's top award for volunteering

View Archive

Retiree earns district's top award for volunteering

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on April 23, 2010 1:46 PM

Full Size


Judy Mallery, left, Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year honoree for Wayne County Public Schools, accepts her award from Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent.

Try as she might, Judy Mallery can't get out of the classroom.

Then again, she really hasn't tried that hard.

Since retiring from a teaching career that technically ended in 1998 at Spring Creek Elementary School, she returned to teaching at Greenwood Middle and then Wayne Christian schools before returning to Spring Creek seven years ago.

When the state ceased its "double-dipping" policy last year -- where retirees could return to teach after a six-month break following retirement -- Mrs. Mallery found another way to stay in school, as a volunteer.

On Thursday, she received the Terry Eugene Pilkington Volunteer of the Year Award for Wayne County Public Schools.

During last school year alone, Mrs. Mallery provided more than 150 volunteer hours assisting Spanish-speaking parents. Each week, she held two, two-hour English classes for approximately 25 parents.

She has served as a liaison between parents and teachers and assisted as a translator when needed. Her efforts helped Spanish-speaking parents to take a more active role in their child's education at the school, Spring Creek principal Charles Ivey said.

"Mrs. Mallery does an amazing job, and her creativity and enthusiasm for this parent education program has become what I have dreamed it would be for years," Ivey said.

"You know that you receive more than you give (as a volunteer). I'm very, just overwhelmed with this award," Mrs. Mallery said, before telling the audience, "If you have any extra time, anyone that's not a volunteer, you need to get in there and do it because I will tell you, I will be back next year."

At the reception Thursday at North Drive Elementary School, volunteers from all 31 schools were recognized for service, while three area "Partners in Education" to the schools were honored for making significant contributions by donating time, expertise, materials and funds. The district currently has 160 Partners in Education.

The PIE awards are given in three categories -- small award for business or organization with 1-15 employees or members; medium, 15-50 members; and large, more than 50 members or employees.

Women of Hope, nominated by Brogden Primary, received the award in the small partner category. A missionary group from First Baptist Church in Goldsboro, it has been partners with the school for two years, assisting with meals, tutoring and playing literacy games.

Golden K Kiwanis, nominated by Northeast Elemen-tary, was selected in the medium partner category. For more than a decade, between 10 and 15 members have been at the school each week tutoring and mentoring students.

The large partner award was presented to Mount Olive College, which provided student athletes to serve as mentors, sent a psychology student intern to help students at Mount Olive Middle School handle the pressures of middle school, and let students use its tennis courts and visit the campus for a variety of tours and events.

"This annual recognition event allows our district to pause and show appreciation for those from the community who contribute countless hours and resources throughout the year to help enhance the quality of education in our schools," said Dr. Steven Taylor, superintendent of schools. "With literally hundreds of volunteers and educational partners across the district, it is always exciting for our schools to recognize those who go above and beyond."

The list of 2009-10 Volunteers of the Year from each school include: Cary Evans, Brogden Middle; Jennifer Melvin, Brogden Primary; Susie Burris-George, Carver Elementary; Zella Taylor, Carver Heights Elementary; Thomas Vail, Charles B. Aycock High; Margaret Carson, Dillard Middle; Michelle Weatherford, Eastern Wayne Elementary; Bobby Adams, Eastern Wayne High; Audrey Horan, Eastern Wayne Middle; Millie Pegram, Edgewood Community Developmental School; Tonya Smith, Fremont STARS Elementary; Toni Williams, Goldsboro High; Melanie Cox, Grantham School; Melissa Thacker, Greenwood Middle; Barbara Straw, Meadow Lane Elementary; Tony Best, Mount Olive Middle; Cheryl Oakley, North Drive Elementary; Pamela Copple, Northeast Elementary; Tracy Zacharzuk, Northwest Elementary; Emily Merritt, Norwayne Middle; Carolyn Davis, Rosewood Elementary; Danny Pierce, Rosewood High; Sherry Jones, Rosewood Middle; Diane Chadwick, School Street Elementary; Sharina Robinson, Southern Wayne High; Richard and Suzanne Harrell, Spring Creek High; Susanna Miller, Tommy's Road Elementary; Catherine Newsome, Wayne Academy; Donna Little, Wayne Early/Middle College High; and Rhonda Stokes, Wayne School of Engineering.