05/19/10 — WCPS technical students, teachers recognized

View Archive

WCPS technical students, teachers recognized

By Staff Reports
Published in News on May 19, 2010 1:46 PM

Wayne County Public Schools recently celebrated the Career Technical Education Department, recognizing teachers and students from school CTE chapters.

The district's 2009-10 CTE high school and middle school CTE teachers of the year were named, and honored were students who had earned first place in state competitions, chosen as state officers or placed in the top 10 in national or international competitions.

Rudy West of Southern Wayne High School was named high school CTE teacher of the year, and Darlene DeBruine of Rosewood Middle School was the district's middle school CTE teacher of the year.

The CTE department promotes seven national and international chapter in middle and high schools, including Technology Students Association, Future Business Leaders Association, Family, Career, and Community Leaders America, Health Occupations Students of America, FFA, SkillsUSA, and DECA.

The following were recently recognized:

Norwayne Middle

TSA chapter award for NCTSA Chapter of the Year; First place winners in the state competition Payton Anders, James Bradley, Landon Casey, Patrick Hall, Cierra Harris, Sarah Hodgins, Forrest Honeycutt, Rachel Jackson, Kendall Palmer, Ben Rouse, Meagan Sharp, Cady Sheeks, Myra Waheed, Austin Westbrook, Jackson Yelverton and Collin Zacharzuk; Top 10 in national competition: Payton Anders, first place, Cierra Harris, Forrest Honeycutt, Rachel Jackson, Sydney Langley, Cady Sheeks, first place, Ricky Tharrington, Myra Waheed and Lee West.

Eastern Wayne Middle

TSA state competition first place, Emily Bae, Parker Mellot, Sydney Schmeltzer and Hannah Wiser; National competition Top Ten, Emily Bae, Raheem Forsythe and Hannah Wiser.

Eastern Wayne High

FBLA state competition, first place, Enpei Wu

Rosewood High

FBLA state competition, first place, Virginia Simpson; National competition, Top 10, Kelly Best; FFA chapter award, first place, Million Hour Challenge.

Southern Wayne High

FBLA state competition, first place, David Joyner.

Spring Creek High

FFA state competition, Avery Falkner, Rexford Price and Daniel Ward; national competition Top 10, Rexford Price and Daniel Ward, both gold national.