05/24/10 — Schools recognize SWHS art teacher, students

View Archive

Schools recognize SWHS art teacher, students

By Staff Reports
Published in News on May 24, 2010 1:46 PM

An art teacher at Southern Wayne High School and 38 artists from Wayne County Public Schools were recently recognized during the district's 19th annual Visual Arts Awards reception.

Andy Sullivan was named Zeno Spence High Art Educator for 2009-10 during the event, which was also sponsored by the Arts Council of Wayne County.

Hope Meyerhoeffer, WCPS director of visual arts, introduced the 38 award-winning artists, while Sarah Merritt, director of the Arts Council, presented each with a plaque. Special recognition was given in several categories -- "Superintendent's Choice Art" for students K-12, "Scholastic Art," which recognizes students who won Scholastic Art Awards at a regional contest held at Barton College earlier in the year, and the the student-created Christmas card design used for districtwide distribution.

"Superintendent's Choice" award recipients include:

First place, Caroline Best, Grantham School, grades K-2; Nauttii Council, Meadow Lane Elem., grades 3-5; Emily Bae, Eastern Wayne Middle, grades 6-8; and Hannah Grantham, Southern Wayne High, grades 9-12.

Second place, Dalton Vaughn-Carlile, Rosewood Elem., grades K-2; Betty Trejo Sanchez, Northeast Elem., grades 3-5; Techinia Lewis, Brogden Middle, grades 6-8; Yamar Wooten, Edgewood, grades 6-8; and Havala Heise, Spring Creek High, grades 9-12.

Third place, Savannah Lathon, School Street Elem., grades 3-5; Casey Sparks, Grantham Middle, grades 6-8; and Ashley Mitchell, Rosewood High, grades 9-12.

Honorable mention: Jennifer Ortiz, Hannah Martin, Akiyah Modlin, Chyna Boyette, Tammaria Smith, Austin Green, Kiareya Wooten, Taylor Kemp, Caiden Eddy, Kaylee Price, Erick Lopez, Kiri Griswold, Shannon Casto, Brianna Rech, Juan Lopez, Katherine Snow, Reagan Herndon, Kristin Baddour and Eric Diaz.

The Superintendent's Choice Art will be displayed for a year in the hallways of the district's administrative offices on Royall Avenue.

Other visual arts award recipients include: Breanna Sasser, Fremont STARS, for the district's Christmas card; Lawrence Wurtele, Charles B. Aycock High, Scholastic Art, gold key; and silver key recipients, Victoria Darby, Brogden Middle, Hannah Grantham and Betsy Morris, both of Southern Wayne High, and Hanna Hall and Jo Turner, both of Spring Creek High.