05/25/10 — WCC recognizes nursing graduates

View Archive

WCC recognizes nursing graduates

By Staff Reports
Published in News on May 25, 2010 1:46 PM

Wayne Community College recognized the 39 members of its associate degree nursing class of 2010 in a formal pinning ceremony May 10.

The annual service, which includes presentation of nursing pins and nurse's creed scrolls by the faculty of the program, lighting of lamps and recitation of the "Florence Nightingale Pledge," denotes the end of the graduates' academic journey and welcomes them into the profession.

The graduates will begin work as registered nurses in June, after taking and passing the national licensure exam.

Angela Perry, president of the ADN class of 2010, said the ritual marked the point where the students' toil paid off and their dreams became reality.

"You had to give up some things. You had to sacrifice. It didn't come easy," she said. "(But) at best, a dream without hard work is merely a daydream."

Three outstanding graduates were also honored.

Megan Suddarth received the theoretical excellence award for high academic standards. She maintained the highest overall grade point average, said Patty Pfeiffer, nursing department chair, who called Ms. Suddarth hard-working, confident and professional.

Jayme Tyndall earned the clinical excellence award for high standards in the clinical component of the program. She was recognized by a physician for her skills and advocacy on her patients' behalf, Mrs. Pfeiffer said.

The outstanding student award, presented to the individual who achieved high standards in both the theoretical and clinical components of the program, went to Brandi Perkins. In addition to a plaque, she also received a scholarship given by the associate degree nursing Class of 1999 and administered by the Foundation of WCC.

Members of the 2010 graduating class included Kristal Adams, Terresyna Artis, William Beirise, Tamra Betterton, Bethany Braswell, Julie Breeden, Kandace Burroughs, Rachel Conlon, Jim Dixon, Nikki Faulk, Tammy Felver, Scott Flowers, Candace Hall, Rhonda Harris, Chelsey Holloman, Amanda Jackson, Kelly Johnson, Dawn Keith, Kim Lee, Robin Matthews, Joseph Neumann Jr., Beth O'Daniel, Sandra Overton, Melissa Pearce, Brandi Perkins, Angela Perry, JoAnna Pippin, Brandy Reardon, Fawn Scott, Lindsay Shields, Meghan Slaughter, April Smith, Stephanie Smith, Crystal Stalnaker, Megan Suddarth, Jayme Tyndall, Robin Harrison Tyson, Sara Waldon and Chanda Williams.