06/13/10 — Very few ballots cast for Senate runoff contest

View Archive

Very few ballots cast for Senate runoff contest

By Steve Herring
Published in News on June 13, 2010 1:50 AM

As of Friday afternoon, 107 one-stop ballots had been cast in advance of the June 22 second Democratic primary between U.S. Senate hopefuls Elaine Marshall and Cal Cunningham.

One-stop voting, which got under way June 3, will continue at the Wayne County Board of Elections office, 209 S. William St., through the coming week from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day. Saturday will be the final day when the hours will be from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.

In-person registration and changes in party affiliation will not be allowed at the one-stop location.

The contest between Ms. Marshall and Cunningham is the only one on ballot.

Polls will be open at all of the county's 30 precincts from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m.

Voters will be asked to state their name, residence address and registered party. After the information is verified, all registered Democrats may vote.

It is a Democratic primary. However, Unaffiliated voters who voted Democrat in the first primary may vote Democrat in the second primary. Unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the first primary also may vote Democrat in the second primary.

Unaffiliated voters who voted Republican or Unaffiliated in the first primary may not vote in the second primary.

Tuesday at 5 p.m. is the deadline for requesting an absentee ballot by mail and June 21 at 5 p.m. is the deadline for returning them to the Board of Elections office.

There have been several changes in polling locations.

Precinct 15 will be temporally transferred for the primary only from the Seven Springs Baptist Church to Seven Springs Town Hall, 301 W. Spring St.

Other changes include:

* Precinct 5 from Belfast Pentecostal Holiness Church, 3093 U.S. 117 North to the Woodmen of the World building, 3733 U.S 117 North.

* Precinct 6 from Saulston Fire Station, 511 Saulston Rd. to Saulston United Methodist Church, 4620 Wayne Memorial Drive.

* Precinct 25 (temporary) from Mount Olive Civic Center, 108. West Main St. to Mount Olive Fire Station, 401 NW Center St.

* Precinct 30 from Southern Academy, 612 S. Breazeale Ave., Mount Olive to First United Methodist Church, 120 E James St.