06/20/10 — Schools choose their individual teachers of the year

View Archive

Schools choose their individual teachers of the year

By Phyllis Moore
Published in News on June 20, 2010 1:50 AM

Thirty-one teachers have been selected to represent their respective schools as Teachers of the Year for 2010-2011, officials announced.

Educators in Wayne County Public Schools will vie for the districtwide honor, which will be announced at the start of the next school year.

The first round of the competition will entail teachers completing a portfolio, which will be submitted to the WCPS Teacher of the Year selection committee.

Materials will be reviewed and interviews conducted in August. Then the field will be narrowed to three finalists -- one each from the elementary, middle and high school levels.

The school system's Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual banquet.

Dr. Steven Taylor, schools superintendent, said the candidates represent the best of the teaching profession.

"These teachers were nominated by their peers and selected because of their commitment to education and their dedication to helping students become successful in the classroom and in life," he said. "By being selected to represent their school as Teacher of the Year, these thirty-one teachers have earned the respect of their students, peers and administrators through their hard work demonstrated both inside and outside the classroom."

Educators and the schools they represent are as follows:

*Brogden Middle, Stephen Richardson

*Brogden Primary, Ashly Loftin

*Carver Elementary, Stacie Fail

*Carver Heights Elementary, Vivian Ferrell

*Charles B. Aycock High, Sederis Whitfield

*Dillard Middle, Tameshia Willoughby

*Eastern Wayne Elementary, Amanda Capps

*Eastern Wayne High, George Weidinger

*Eastern Wayne Middle, Pamela Johnson

*Edgewood, Monica Tobe

*Fremont STARS Elementary, Michelle Hamm

*Goldsboro High, Trelvia Thompson

*Grantham School, Ashley Howell

*Greenwood Middle, Norman Mitchell

*Meadow Lane Elementary, Christine Dubrowsky

*Mount Olive Middle, Jennifer Harper

*North Drive Elementary, Denise Dupree

*Northeast Elementary, Pamela Creech

*Northwest Elementary, Melissa Edgerton

*Norwayne Middle, Jackie Purcell

*Rosewood Elementary, Ethel Branch

*Rosewood High, Heather Turner

*Rosewood Middle, Sara Arnette

*School Street Elementary, Winter McNeill

*Southern Wayne High, Elizabeth Moore

*Spring Creek Elementary, Debbie Turner

*Spring Creek High, Scott Hardy

*Tommy's Road Elementary, Tyshaun Bryant

*Wayne Academy, Tomekia Bell

*Wayne Early/Middle College High, Kelli Hamm

*Wayne School of Engineering, Lisa McGrath.